Audi Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
8E0 820 043 AL Guys this is a part number given to me for an Air Con Unit which the person selling has told me will work in my 2005 B7 A4, the guy who is selling told me it was taken out of a 55 plate 2005 B7 A4, just want to make sure it is the right part number for my car, i changed over my RNS-E and air con unit from my old car, a 2002 A4 and put both into my new 2005 B7, all is working but the air con unit is a bit dogey as in it does not go as cold as it should when on LO, so could you tell me is the above part number for my 2005 B7 A4,just want to make sure before i buy.I am not even sure what year a 55 Plate is??? as we have a different system to the UK, the year our cars were made is part of our registration number
Thanks as always fpr the help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
I would always recommend to keep the electornics from the old car and just move them over to the new shell. There are tens of different A/C controllers, finding the correct one is difficult. Changing them between model years is almost impossible. Make sure that both A/C controllers are with or without heated seats and the just swap the electronics, that would be mi recommendation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
AudiA4B6US said:
I would always recommend to keep the electornics from the old car and just move them over to the new shell. There are tens of different A/C controllers, finding the correct one is difficult. Changing them between model years is almost impossible. Make sure that both A/C controllers are with or without heated seats and the just swap the electronics, that would be mi recommendation.
Thanks for that, so what you are saying in theory is to strip the boards/Electrics etc from one to the other and just use the plaltic housing?/
Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
That's what I'm saying.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
479 Posts
Do I need to Panic ?

I upgraded to a 2 DIN unit at the Weekend and I just pulled my existing A/C Contol unit and replaced it with the one I bought off ebay. It came from a 2004 A4 & I have a 2005 A4 Cab.

I have not noticed any problems as of yet but I am now concerened, after reading the above posts. :oops:

Both units had a the same part number but with a different suffix, not go them to hand but what sort of errors might I get if it's not the correct unit :?:

I have posted some pictures of the Cabriolet differences on another post and below,

http://upload6.postimage.org/450251/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450286/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450293/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450309/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450324/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450331/photo_hosting.html
http://upload6.postimage.org/450347/photo_hosting.html
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Re: Do I need to Panic ?

Dave.G6HNI said:
Both units had the same part number but with a different suffix, not got them to hand but what sort of errors might I get if it's not the correct unit :?:
Things like climate control buttons not working as expected (re-circ, temperature, etc.), and fault codes being logged (like problem with air flap, etc.).

If you're not getting anything like that then I wouldn't worry.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
teaboy said:
How easy is it to swap the boards inside?
Several people have done it I believe.

I've cheated by always making sure I buy a car with a Symphony II - so I don't have to do the single DIN to double DIN conversion!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
AudiA4B6US said:
I would always recommend to keep the electornics from the old car and just move them over to the new shell. There are tens of different A/C controllers, finding the correct one is difficult. Changing them between model years is almost impossible. Make sure that both A/C controllers are with or without heated seats and the just swap the electronics, that would be mi recommendation.
Hi Audia4b6us
Thank u thank u, my friend did the change over and all is now working perfectly, as you said just changed the Facia(face plate) of each unit which meant the original electronics go back in there original car, magic, it was very simple to do this chageover, pop out the CC, Removing the Facia is only 2 screws for cover which is housed by a number of clips around the cc, a small screw driver to undo these clips and the face pops off the cc, then all you do is remove the board from the Facia and change them over, 15 mins job again many many thanks for your advice you just saved me 200euro, my next qusetion is does anyone on these forums repair RNS-E european model???
Dec
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top