Audi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if the RNS-E supports voice recognition? Am about to do a retrofit on my 2006 A3 3.2S and was wondering whether I could talk to the unit and tell it to switch to radio, nav, entering addresses, switching to the next MP3 on your SD mode, etc. I do NOT have the BT kit, is this something I would need to support this?

I read something about SDS but not sure if this is only in the A4 RNS-E "Rev J" kits, nor if it is only something that is supported by that revision/A4 unit only or whether this was something that has been in the RNS-Es for a while.

If anyone knows, please reply!

Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
367 Posts
SDS is only available, if I'm not mistaken, on the A6 and A8. The A3 RNS is controlled from the front panel and via the steering wheel controls.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Read this thread http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3218

At the moment we don't know for sure if the US J unit supports SDS but the functionality is just missing in the US 0110 SW, but we do know the EU H unit does when used with EU SW 0460 (maybe with 0330 or 0360 too).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
RNS-E Vioce control

This unit, J, does indeed support voice control, but it requires the use of another module to control it. If you have the roller multifunction steering wheel, a J unit, and are interested; I can put together a kit for the voice control system for your car. contact me at [email protected]. I will look into the A3 unit which supports this feature as well and post the part # soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

BBC!! said:
This unit, J, does indeed support voice control, but it requires the use of another module to control it. If you have the roller multifunction steering wheel, a J unit, and are interested; I can put together a kit for the voice control system for your car. contact me at [email protected]. I will look into the A3 unit which supports this feature as well and post the part # soon.
That's cool.......

Do you know if the same i true for RNS-E for A4-B7 (8E0 035 192 D)?
Someone claims to have got SDS menu even for that unit.

Rob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
117 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

BBC!! said:
This unit, J, does indeed support voice control, but it requires the use of another module to control it. If you have the roller multifunction steering wheel, a J unit, and are interested; I can put together a kit for the voice control system for your car. contact me at [email protected]. I will look into the A3 unit which supports this feature as well and post the part # soon.
How about the RNS-E 'A' unit (Europe) for an A3 (2006)?

Is it possible to have SDS there?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

Glider said:
BBC!! said:
This unit, J, does indeed support voice control, but it requires the use of another module to control it. If you have the roller multifunction steering wheel, a J unit, and are interested; I can put together a kit for the voice control system for your car. contact me at [email protected]. I will look into the A3 unit which supports this feature as well and post the part # soon.
That's cool.......

Do you know if the same i true for RNS-E for A4-B7 (8E0 035 192 D)?
Someone claims to have got SDS menu even for that unit.

Rob
I just bought and installed a US RNS-E in to my 06A4B7 and the voice rec works fine right out of the box. I don't have my model nu,ber off harnd, but I know it's a new model for 2006. and it is a NA unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

Ponch said:
I just bought and installed a US RNS-E in to my 06A4B7 and the voice rec works fine right out of the box. I don't have my model nu,ber off harnd, but I know it's a new model for 2006. and it is a NA unit.
You can control the telephone interface but you can't control the navigation or radio using voice, can you?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

AudiA4B6US said:
Ponch said:
I just bought and installed a US RNS-E in to my 06A4B7 and the voice rec works fine right out of the box. I don't have my model nu,ber off harnd, but I know it's a new model for 2006. and it is a NA unit.
You can control the telephone interface but you can't control the navigation or radio using voice, can you?
That's correct. I can press the voice button on my MFSW and speak telephone commmands. I can't do anything else not dealing with the telephone options. Would be cool to change the radio stations of add a place to navigate to, but alas, it can not. Also, I can save voice telephone numbers, but they do not get added to my phone book (visual). I can add voice notes to any manualy added phone book entry as well.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

Ponch said:
AudiA4B6US said:
Ponch said:
I just bought and installed a US RNS-E in to my 06A4B7 and the voice rec works fine right out of the box. I don't have my model nu,ber off harnd, but I know it's a new model for 2006. and it is a NA unit.
You can control the telephone interface but you can't control the navigation or radio using voice, can you?
That's correct. I can press the voice button on my MFSW and speak telephone commmands. I can't do anything else not dealing with the telephone options. Would be cool to change the radio stations of add a place to navigate to, but alas, it can not. Also, I can save voice telephone numbers, but they do not get added to my phone book (visual). I can add voice notes to any manualy added phone book entry as well.
That's the voice commands of the PHONE module then, NOT the voice commands of the RNS-E.

With an SDS capable RNS-E you can control most (not all, e.g. you can't select the SD card as audio source by voice) of the RNS-E operations including, of course, the extended phone operations.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

Guys do you know if this is fitted as standard to vehicles with RNS-E if so how can you use not found anywhere on my vehicle. B7 S4 Cab with RNS-E.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
So has anyone found or posted the info for what's needed to get the SDS to work on a NA unit? I'm looking to add nav to my car in the next few weeks but if I can get SDS too then I’ll take it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

ashleyadam said:
Guys do you know if this is fitted as standard to vehicles with RNS-E if so how can you use not found anywhere on my vehicle. B7 S4 Cab with RNS-E.
SDS is NOT standard,you only get it with the H unit - which is a Euro unit.

There is no support for SDS in either US hardware or software.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
xtorted said:
So has anyone found or posted the info for what's needed to get the SDS to work on a NA unit? I'm looking to add nav to my car in the next few weeks but if I can get SDS too then I’ll take it.
Neither US hardware nor software support SDS.

All you can control by voice is the Bluetooth module (if you have an MFSW).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

I installed a D unit the other day and it had full SDS

Go figure...

PetrolDave said:
ashleyadam said:
Guys do you know if this is fitted as standard to vehicles with RNS-E if so how can you use not found anywhere on my vehicle. B7 S4 Cab with RNS-E.
SDS is NOT standard,you only get it with the H unit - which is a Euro unit.

There is no support for SDS in either US hardware or software.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Voice recognition RNS-E A3

I have just bought an A3 with RNS-E in Europe. It has full voice recognition on 'phone, navi,radio.....
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Re: Voice recognition RNS-E A3

eiskurve said:
I have just bought an A3 with RNS-E in Europe. It has full voice recognition on 'phone, navi,radio.....
What's the FULL part number (including suffix) of your RNS-E?

It should be 8P0 035 192 followed by a letter, the letter is the important part.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Re: RNS-E Vioce control

craigyb said:
I installed a D unit the other day and it had full SDS

Go figure...

PetrolDave said:
ashleyadam said:
Guys do you know if this is fitted as standard to vehicles with RNS-E if so how can you use not found anywhere on my vehicle. B7 S4 Cab with RNS-E.
SDS is NOT standard,you only get it with the H unit - which is a Euro unit.

There is no support for SDS in either US hardware or software.
Weird! That's the first D unit that has had SDS. What SW is it running - 0500?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Actually SW 360, suprised me....



 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
So - we have to revise our theories about which units support SDS then.

Are all D units SDS capable - with the right SW?

Or is there an internal SDS upgrade (more memory, extra plug-in card, WHY?) which is standard in an H unit, and fitted to this D unit, and to eiskurve's A3 unit?
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top