Audi Forum banner

21 - 21 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Very easy, assuming you have either a software update CD or the region maps DVD (with the firmware on it) for the region you want to convert to.

1. Insert the disk containing the new regions firmware

2. Enter engineering mode:
a. Press NAV
b. The unit should show"Insert Navigation DVD screen" (because you have the wrong region disk inserted). Press RETURN if not.
c. Press and hold the top left quadrant key for 6 seconds and release
d. Press and hold the top right quadrant key for 6 seconds
e. The RNS-E Engineering Mode Menu will appear

3. Select the "General" option from the menu

4. Enter your PIN number using the main jog wheel:
a. Turn left 'N' clicks for the first digit of the pin
b. Turn right 'N' clicks for the second digit of the pin
c. Turn left 'N' clicks for the third digit of the pin
d. Turn right 'N' clicks for the forth digit of the pin
e. Press and hold NAV for 10 seconds
Two new options "Memory clear" and "PRG clear" should appear in the "Debugging" menu
NB: If you have a zero digit in your pin, tun the wheel 10 clicks for zero

5. On the secret "Debugging Menu"
a. Scroll over to the "PRG clear" option and select it
b. Confirm "Delete program?": YES

6. The software update process will start with the normal red screen and program the unit with the new region's firmware

7. When the process completes the RNS-E will reboot, and then immediately perform a second update to flash the radio tuner firmware

8. Wait for the second update to complete, enter your PIN and you are good to go. Enjoy your newly converted EU or US unit.

Edit:
Sorry this needs a slightly modified procedure and special software update media for a 193 unit. Full instructions and downloads of the tools you need here.

How this works:
The "delete program" option erases the module directory from the program flash and reboots the unit.
When the bootloader code sees the module directory is missing it performs an emergency recovery by forcing the flash loader to run from the current disk.
It does this without checking for software level or if the supplied firmware is for the correct region (in fact the software level and region is stored in the module directory, so they have also been deleted).
 
21 - 21 of 21 Posts
Top