Audi Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
737 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm receiving my RNS-E kit on Tuesday for installation in my 2000 S4. The kits is plug & play, courtesy of a member from AW. I have a Symphony I with an Audi Phatbox in exchange for a CD Changer. Can someone confirm:

1)Doing this coversion over to the US version, can I install the XM/Sirius Tuner?

2)If the XM/Sirius Tuner works, can I still have my phatbox running thru the CD changer cable?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
todd1010 said:
1)Doing this coversion over to the US version, can I install the XM/Sirius Tuner??
see previous posting.

todd1010 said:
2)If the XM/Sirius Tuner works, can I still have my phatbox running thru the CD changer cable?
This flash to the US software does not change anything concerning devices connected to the CD changer port. If it works now it should work after the flash as well. But I would recommend to install the RNS-E first and get everything working. Once it works consider upgrading to the US software and add the sat receiver.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts
himnbandit said:
just to let you know - the kit cant be "plug and play" as your car does not have CANH and CANL signals going to the radio. You will have to tap the can signals and run them to the rns-e harness.
He said he has a 2000 S4 which does have the CAN wires in place. So yes it should be plug and play.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
737 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So let me get this correct.

Once I get my RNS-E, get it up and working. Since I do have a 2000 S4 and, which to my reading here has the correct CAN signals to the radio. I can "TRY" this US software upgrade at my own risk. After completion of the software upgrade, I should then be able to install the factory XM or Sirius Tuner?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
todd1010 said:
So let me get this correct.

Once I get my RNS-E, get it up and working. Since I do have a 2000 S4 and, which to my reading here has the correct CAN signals to the radio. I can "TRY" this US software upgrade at my own risk. After completion of the software upgrade, I should then be able to install the factory XM or Sirius Tuner?
Correct. The SAT install should be similar to this (2nd part, you can skip the Symophony II install since you already have the RNS-E at that time)
OEM SAT radio installed into '01 A6
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
517 Posts
bfly said:
himnbandit said:
just to let you know - the kit cant be "plug and play" as your car does not have CANH and CANL signals going to the radio. You will have to tap the can signals and run them to the rns-e harness.
He said he has a 2000 S4 which does have the CAN wires in place. So yes it should be plug and play.
So is this incorrect about the 2000 S4 ?

http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=238

I know from personal experience, that it is wrong with regards to a 2001 A6 (pre-facelift).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
737 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
AudiA4B6US said:
Correct. The SAT install should be similar to this (2nd part, you can skip the Symophony II install since you already have the RNS-E at that time)
OEM SAT radio installed into '01 A6

In the link you provided, you said in this link: OEM SAT radio installed into '01 A6

"First, a note about my installation. I have installed this SAT radio with the knowledge that I will never desire a CD changer, Phatbox, iPod, or other peripheral device in my car. By doing this installation I "reassign" some of the CD changer data wires to carry CANbus signals. These CD changer data wires are how the changer, Phatbox, or other communicates track data to the headunit. If you are not willing to "reassign" these data wires, you will have to run two new wires from your headunit to your trunk to carry CANbus network signals. At this point I would also like to point out that the SAT radio has a built-in audio pass through for other devices. This means that you do not need an audio mixer or other device to connect two audio sources into your headunit. The Audio-IN pinouts can be seen on my SAT radio wiring diagrams. I have not tested these inputs but are shown on the Bentley wiring diagrams."


This sounds like I won't be able to run SAT Radio & a Phatbox, is that correct?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
todd1010 said:
This sounds like I won't be able to run SAT Radio & a Phatbox, is that correct?
This all depends which wires you use. He used the CDC harness because it's there but if you don't want to use the CDC harness, you have to route new wires from the HU to the SAT receiver. In theory CAN-hi/-lo/-gnd and power is all you need, in addtion to the signals already present in the CDC harness. I haven't done it myself and therefore can't provide final answers, just hints and links to related articles.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Thats what I thought - to see if you need to make modifications remove your radio and look at the top connector to the left of the rear of the unit @ the left-center and right-top pins on the center cluster of pins, they will be marked as CAN L and CAN H respectively on the diagram on top of the unit. If the wires leading to these pins are orange, there’s a good chance the CAN signals are already in place and no modification to the wiring harnesses will be necessary. If the wires are grey (which is my guess), chances are you’ll need to tap into the CAN signals behind your instrument cluster.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top