Audi Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just want to make sure that I am doing the update properly.

My unit's engineering mode screen
System SW index: 0100
HW index: H54
Map database index: EN0403
HU/Navi SW version V220033E
Boot versionV220100D
Audio SW version A2200109-16080

I copied the following files from 2007 DVD
00.VNS
A2220134.MOT
INDEX.TXT
LDM.BIN
LOADING.KWI


I changed INDEX.TXT using hex editor from
SOFIDX:0150.NAVVER:V222027E.AUDVER:A2220134
SOFIDX:0110.NAVVER:V220033F.AUDVER:A2220134

I also changed LOADING.KWI to look like this:



I just wanted to know if I missed anything.

TIA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
That should work. If you are using a MAC, just make sure you are buring as ISO file system, not Mac HFS. Once you did the update, check in engineering mode if the new NAVVER starts with V222. If it does, insert the oriignal US 2007 DVD and your unit should update again, now to US 0150.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
AudiA4B6US

As far as VAGcom coding...What do i need to do?

Looks like RNS-E shows up on the DIS. It says no dvd on the area that used to be occupied by temperature. I also see t-mobile on the RNS-E screen

I have MFSW, SAT, BT, and Icelink.

I will flash Icelink using symphony II. I already know the code for updating the unit to US.

What else am I missing?


Ben
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
Need to do what? Did you check the quick links to see what coding options you have and should check?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, I have seen it. However, some of the options confuse me.

STG 56 (Navigation System) -> Coding -> Function 07
xxx?xx: Telephone/telematics
1 - no telephone (supply voltage for microphone actively)
2 - Mobile phone preparation (Temic - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
3 - Mobile phone preparation (Cullmann - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
4 - Mobile phone preparation (Nokia - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
5 - Telematics Europe (supply voltage microphone inactively)
6 - Telematics US (supply voltage microphone inactively)
7 - Base plate diagnostic capable with comfort control

What do I use for OEM BT prep?

STG 56 -> Adaptation -> Function 10
-> Channel 003 (Language)
0 - German
1 - English (UK only)
2 - French
3 - Italian
5 - Spanish
7 - English (USA only)

-> Channel 007 (Settings)
+01 - Distance in miles
+02 - Speed in mph
+04 - time in am/pm
+08 - Date in MM:TT:JJJJ
+16 - Repeat voice commands

-> Channel 008 (GALA)
000 - GALA off
001 - Charakteristics 1
002 - Charakteristics 2
003 - Charakteristics 3
004 - Charakteristics 4
005 - Charakteristics 5
255 - GALA via microphone (Bose AudioPilot ?)

I've seen this options on the RNS-E screen, are they the same? Or do I still need to code on VAG?

-> Channel 005 (TV in motion)
0 - off
1 - up to 5 km/h
250 - unlimited

-> Channel 136 (Voice commands)
00005 - LHD (USA)
00013 - RHD (USA)
02632 - RHD (Europe)
03226 - LHD (Europe)

What code should I use here?


TIA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
0xxx6xx is the correct coding in the US. Channel 3/7/8 you don't have to change with VAG-COM, they are accessible via Setup on the RNS-E. Channel 05 you can only set to 0 or 1 unless you got your RNS-E unlocked for video in motion. Channel 136 should remain 5 but you can set whatever you like best and is possible to save. Not all the values are valid with the current software.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
AudiA4B6US,

I’m finalizing my coding cheat sheet and I just to get it double checked. Listed below are the parts I have.

RNS-E part #8P0 035 192
BT phone prep
MFSW
Sirius Sat

My car is a 2007 A3. The navi is already installed. Sound comes out on the correct speakers. MFSW have control over volume and changing stations. The following shows up on the bottom of the RNS-E screen: TP, crossed out TMC and T-mobile with signal strength bars(when BT phone is paired).

OEM BT still functions the same. Address book shows up on DIS. RNS-E mutes and phone gets patched to speakers. MFSW has full functionality. RNS-E screen does not do anything whether calling or receiving calls, it does not show phone volume when you change it using MFSW.

DIS Functions the same, I can still use the stalk to cycle thru screens. RNS-E shows up on DIS. It shows compass direction and “NO map-DVD below it.

SAT used to work, but does not with RNS-E. I know that this will change when I do the US flash.

My questions are in BOLD.

TIA

STG 17 (Instrument cluster) -> Adaptation -> Function 10 -> Channel 62
+01 - Radio
+02 - Telefon
+04 - Navigation
+08 - Telematics
+16 - Instrument Cluster
To add navigation, add +4 to the current value.

STG 56 (Navigation System) -> Coding -> Function 07
0205637

02xxxxx: Model
1 - Lamborghini
2 - Audi A3 (8P)
3 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
4 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
5 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
6 - Audi TT (> 2007) (sw US 0150+, EU 0500+)
7 - Audi R8 (sw US 0150+, EU 0500+)

0x0xxxx: Diagnostics for front speakers
0 - activ
1 - inactiv

I have BOSE, do I use 5 or 9?
0xx5xxx: Sound characteristics
0 - linear
1 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
2 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
3 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
4 - Audi TT (> 2004)
5 - Audi A3 (8P)
9 - Bose Soundsystem

0xxx6xx: Telephone/telematics
1 - no telephone (supply voltage for microphone actively)
2 - Mobile phone preparation (Temic - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
3 - Mobile phone preparation (Cullmann - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
4 - Mobile phone preparation (Nokia - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
5 - Telematics Europe (supply voltage microphone inactively)
6 - Telematics US (supply voltage microphone inactively)
7 - Base plate diagnostic capable with comfort control

0xxxx3x: Options I
1 - default
2 - Digital-Radio
3 - Satelite-Radio
4 - Satelite- and Digital-Radio

0xxxxx7: Options II
1 - default
2 - TV-Tuner
3 - CD-Changer
4 - TV-Tuner and CD-Changer
5 - Multifunction Steering Wheel
6 - TV-Tuner and Multifunction Steering Wheel
7 - CD-Changer and Multifunction Steering Wheel
8 - TV-Tuner, CD-Changer und Multifunction Steering Wheel


STG 56 -> Adaptation -> Function 10
Channel 001 (Tires)
1943

Channel 002 (GALA)
43 - Audi A3 (8P)

Do I need to do anything here? I don’t have a video source.
Channel 005 (TV in motion)
0 - off
1 - up to 5 km/h
250 – unlimited

Channel 010 (Region)
0 - Northern hemisphere (Europe, North America)

Channel 097 (Downgrade Software)

Channel 136 (Voice commands)
00005 - LHD (USA)

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 070 (Display Brightness)
0 - off
1 - 20%
2 - 40%
3 - 60%
4 - 80%
5 - 100%

INTERFACE BLUETOOTH # 77 (Phone) Coding - Function 07
I’m planning to use this code.
0001477

My RNS-E is part# 8P0 035 192, do I use 0 or 1?
000xxxx: Functions
0 = Basic (for RNS-E basic/Radio)
1 = Comfort (for RNS-E high/RNS-Low)

00x1xxx: Steering Wheel
0 = No Multi-Function OR Standard Steering Wheel (Old Style without Menu Thumb Wheels)
1 = Modular Steering Wheel (New Style with Menu Thumb Wheels)

00xx4xx: Installation List
1 = Diagnostics via CAN /
2 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Diagnostics via CAN
3 = Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via CAN
4 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via CAN
5 = Diagnostics via K-Line /
6 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Diagnostics via K-Line
7 = Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via K-Line
8 = Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Head Unit (e.g. RNS-E), Diagnostics via K-Line

00xxx7x: Language (Voice Control)
0 = Voice Control OFF OR via external Device (e.g. RNS-E)
1 = German
2 = English (UK)
3 = French
4 = Italian
5 = Spanish
7 = English (US)
9 = Speaker dependent (Voice Commands inactive, Acoustic Name Selection active)

00xxxx7: Language (Display)
0 = No Display
1 = German
2 = English (UK)
3 = French
4 = Italian
5 = Spanish
7 = English (US)

#77 Adaptation 10

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 128 (Base Volume)
000 - 0dB (no increase/decrease)
001 - +1dB increase
003 - +3dB increase
006 - +6dB increase
128 - -1dB decrease
130 - -3dB decrease
133 - -6dB decrease

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 129 time after ignition off
000 - 30 Seconds
001 - 5 Minutes
002 - 10 Minutes
240 - 20 hours

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 131 (Microphone Sensitivity)
000 - 0dB (no increase/decrease)
001 - +1dB increase
002 - +2dB increase
003 - +3dB increase
004 - +4dB increase
005 - +5dB increase
006 - +6dB increase
128 - -1dB decrease
129 - -2dB decrease
130 - -3dB decrease
131 - -4dB decrease
132 - -5dB decrease
133 - -6dB decrease

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 133 (BlueTooth)
0 - BT disable
1 - BT Enable

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 134 (handsfree)
0 - handsfree over BT
1 - handsfree only with mobile in cradle

Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 135 (BT-PassKey)
default: 1234


What is this?
Can-Gateway -> (long coding)
Select 19 (CAN-Gateway)
Long Coding -> Function 07
Byte 03 Bit 0 Special Function (Address 3D)
Byte 03 Bit 1 Sound System (Address 47)
Byte 03 Bit 2 Telematics (Address 75)
Byte 03 Bit 3 Navigation (Address 37)
Byte 03 Bit 4 TV-Tuner (Address 57)
Byte 03 Bit 5 Digital Radio (Address 0F)
Byte 03 Bit 6 Radio (Adress 56)
Byte 03 Bit 7 Telephone (Address 77)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
I have BOSE, do I use 5 or 9?
9
Do I need to do anything here? I don’t have a video source.
No
I’m planning to use this code. 0001477
Use 11477
Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 128 (Base Volume)
No
Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 129 time after ignition off
No
Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 134 (handsfree)
Set to 0
Do I need to do anything here?
Channel 135 (BT-PassKey)
default: 1234
No, you can change the BT passkey using the RNS-E
What is this?
Can-Gateway -> (long coding)
The CAN gateway needs proper coding or it will log faults
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top