Audi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

i fit a rns-e with led screen from an a3 to my old rs4 b5 with a kufatec adapter.

I put the 2 can cables to my grey connector on the speedometer as there were no cables (had an old concert radio).

I have the navigation info in the fis and it works.

There are only 2 thins that dont work -

- Rnse doenst go off when ignition is off and not on when i turn off the ignition.
- The radio titles are not displayed in the fis. The place were those were displayed is black. (Speedo coded to 5)

I cannot code the rns-e to a6. It doenst accepct the coding. What i can code is a3 or a4.

Does anybody have an idea on how i can change it.

I couldnt test the navigation as the car is in winter sleep, but i think it should work (In the garage the car has 1 satelite)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
I cannot code the rns-e to a6. It doenst accepct the coding. What i can code is a3 or a4.
To work in a B5 you need to be able to code the RNS-E for an A6.

However, as has been already posted here the 2010+ RNS-E cannot be coded for an A6.

So a 2010+ RNS-E is not suitable for your B5 - sorry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
If you use a cangate module then it is possible, I put a 2010 RNS-E coded for A4 into an A2 and used a cangate module from Bjarne to generate GALA from the speed signals on the infotainment CAN bus.

My nav works perfectly except for speed limit displays.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
jes that is what i want.

But had you the problem with the non saving pin? - Bjarne said he could write the vin that the rns-e expects to see so that it shouldnt be a problem. But i cannot enter the engineering mode to get the vin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
I don't have the PIN problems...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
I never had pin problems with or without cangate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
can the problem be due that the speedometer has no funkturm and the date and time is differnt to the rns-e (speedo shows 1.1.1999 and a complete different time
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Two things that need to be done are, coding of the RNS-E to A4 and coding of the cluster to use CAN bus

That should sync the time up and the cangate will fix the time issue with the RNS-E/cluster that the B5 has and possibly the GALA/speed signal issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Ok, then the other two things that fixed the PIN code issues were to reset the RNS-E by holding RADIO & SETUP for 10 seconds and also driving around for about an hour with the radio on and entering the PIN code.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I tried resetting, but then i have the same issue.

Driving i couldnt test as the rs4 is in winter sleep (lot of snow and only summer tires)

So you mean i should turn on the rns-e drive an hour without entering pin code or start the rns-e enter the pin code and drive for an hour?

I came into the engineering mode and there is no vin present.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
They were fixes for the pre 2010 RNS-E, I cannot say for sure if they work on the 2010 RNS-E.

But they should, the RNS-E accepts the VIN on both year models and the B5 has always had this issue of the PIN/time sync, but the cangate has been used to fix it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
I made a scan with vcds:

Adresse 37: Navigation Labeldatei: MFT\8E0-035-192-RNSE.lbl
Teilenummer SW: 8P0 035 193 B HW: 8P0 035 193 B
Bauteil: RNS-E PU EU H06 0200
Revision: 0000012S Seriennummer: AUZBZ7L6100392
Codierung: 0309121
Betriebsnr.: WSC 00000 000 00000
VCID: 2F692520C76F

5 Fehlercodes gefunden:
00446 - Funktionseinschränkung durch Unterspannung
002 - unterer Grenzwert unterschritten - Sporadisch
Umgebungsbedingungen:
Fehlerstatus: 00100010
Fehlerpriorität: 7
Fehlerhäufigkeit: 1
Verlernzähler: 199
Zeitangabe: 0
Datum: 2127.01.06
Zeit: 00:12:31

Umgebungsbedingungen:
Spannung: 12.10 V
Kilometerstand: 655350 km
Anzahl: 65535
Uhrzeit: 255:255

00858 - Verbindung zwischen ZF-Ausgang Radio zum Antennenverstärker
011 - Unterbrechung
Umgebungsbedingungen:
Fehlerstatus: 01101011
Fehlerpriorität: 5
Fehlerhäufigkeit: 1
Verlernzähler: 155
Zeitangabe: 0
Datum: 2127.01.07
Zeit: 00:30:10

Umgebungsbedingungen:
Kilometerstand: 655350 km
Anzahl: 701
Uhrzeit: 00:30

01317 - Steuergerät im Schalttafeleinsatz (J285)
008 - unplausibles Signal
Umgebungsbedingungen:
Fehlerstatus: 01101000
Fehlerpriorität: 5
Fehlerhäufigkeit: 1
Verlernzähler: 157
Zeitangabe: 0
Datum: 2127.01.01
Zeit: 00:01:17

Umgebungsbedingungen:
Binärwert: 11011011
Binärwert: 11

01305 - Datenbus Infotainment
004 - kein Signal/Kommunikation - Sporadisch
Umgebungsbedingungen:
Fehlerstatus: 00100100
Fehlerpriorität: 5
Fehlerhäufigkeit: 3
Verlernzähler: 198
Zeitangabe: 0
Datum: 2127.01.07
Zeit: 00:30:10

03157 - Funktionseinschränkung wegen Kommunikationsstörung
000 - -
Umgebungsbedingungen:
Fehlerstatus: 01100000
Fehlerpriorität: 6
Fehlerhäufigkeit: 1
Verlernzähler: 155
Zeitangabe: 0
Datum: 2127.01.07
Zeit: 00:30:28

Umgebungsbedingungen:
Binärwert: 00000000 00000000
Binärwert: 00000000 00000000
Binärwert: 10000000 00000000
Binärwert: 00000000 00000000

I always have the problem with communication if i disconnect the speedo...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Hi Dave.

Why do you insist that 2010+ LED RNS-E can not be coded for A6?

thank you

Adam

To work in a B5 you need to be able to code the RNS-E for an A6.

However, as has been already posted here the 2010+ RNS-E cannot be coded for an A6.

So a 2010+ RNS-E is not suitable for your B5 - sorry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Because several of us have tried to code it for A6
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Because several of us have tried to code it for A6
And since craigyb has more experience than anyone else I know that's good enough for me.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
1 - 20 of 46 Posts
Top