Audi Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI!! im new to this.but i just installed my rns-d unit and i thought i hooked up everythin right..but some error sign comes on when it turns on..and the red dipslay around the screen doesnt light up...and my second problem is that the navi is wayyy OFF!! i would be headed towards a city up north and it will say somethin totally opossite and i catch like 5-6 satellites.....if someone can help me..id really appreciate it :oops:

·
Registered
23 Posts
I don't know about the error signal (post a picture of it?) but the nav way off is usually because your GALA wire is not hooked up correctly.

Also sometimes driving around for 10 minutes turning left and right and in circles will let it orientate itself.

John-

xplizittrojan said:
HI!! im new to this.but i just installed my rns-d unit and i thought i hooked up everythin right..but some error sign comes on when it turns on..and the red dipslay around the screen doesnt light up...and my second problem is that the navi is wayyy OFF!! i would be headed towards a city up north and it will say somethin totally opossite and i catch like 5-6 satellites.....if someone can help me..id really appreciate it :oops:

·
Registered
13 Posts
If nothing comes up on the instrument panel (I assume that's what you mean when you say red display around the screen) then you need to check what you have in your car. Firstly you need a TMC unit. It acts as a CAN gateway and you'll not get anything displayed without one. Checkout Dan Gold's web site for details of fitting. - Click on the top most message from Teddy and look through it and Dan's page is the first link.
I agree with Siberian - it sounds like your Gala signal is not connected up properly.

·
Registered
23 Posts
What is Gala? Quick description