Audi Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey'all...Newbie here...I was going over this site since I was thinking of installing the RNS-E in my S4 Cab. I was wondering if anyone on here has done this?

I have a 2005 S4 Cab with the Bose Symphony. I know it has the RadioPilot (or whatever it's called, it's not GALA).

The key questions I have are:
- Anyone tried installing on a cab?
- I'd definitely like to have the Bluetooth and iPod adapter, CD changer is optional.

The detailed pictures and instructions are great, I'm just a bit daunted since I'm not familiar with all the parts and haven't seen a Cab installation on here yet.

Thanks.

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
Just follow the A4 B6/B7 Sedan/Avant postings, your Cabrio is pretty much the same. You can use any 8E0 or 8H0 RNS-E and it will be a simple plug and play swap if you put the GPS antenna somewhere under the dash. Bose and the AudioPilot is no problem, just order the correct adapter.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks...

Guess no one in the Houston area has done a retrofit and is on the board? Just like to see if I could get some help...

Actually, I think the only help I may need is with the cables. And programming/updating the car with the VAG Log procedure.

I'm trying to decide if I want to keep my XM Radio installed and opt for the Phatbox in lieu of the CD Changer.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just in case your are curious...I asked Clairparts.com do quote me some prices. Here's what I received, all prices in USD.

RNS-E - 8H0 035 192 B $3530.77
TEL Module - 8P0 862 335 C $443.25
iPod adapter - 8E0 035 111 A $155.16
CD Changer - 8E0 035 111 A, $760.77

Looks like those of you that bought one for under $3000 got a great deal.

Now to look at some other sources.

Now to see how bad I want the new system.... :?:

·
Registered
6,767 Posts