Audi Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, newbie here with the first post.
Been doing quite a bit of research the past couple of weeks on this forum. Very enlightening and overwhelming at the same time.

I was hoping to get some expert opinions and thoughts on my somewhat particular situation. Here is the background:

I reside in Seoul, Korea and I've recently purchased a Japanese-spec C5 2003 S6 sedan with the Japanese Navi Plus unit (there have been a few posts on this unit in the past) and Bose options

I haven't had a chance to fully explore the capabilities of this unit in my local environment due to the fact that the buttons and menus are primarily in Japanese, but this is what I have gathered so far:

-the navigation is useless as I am in Korea
-instead of the SD slots, this unit comes with a MD player, just as useless
-the built-in TV tuner is compatible with local frequency, but picture quality is pretty bad, and in Korea we have the luxury of the world's first DMB network
-unlike Korea and the rest of the world, the Japanese FM frequency range is limited to something like 90Mhz
-the trunk 6 CD changer works fine, but I'm not too thrilled with the Japanese menus and display (somewhat minor issue)

As you can see, besides the CD changer feature and the big wide screen, this unit in its current form has not much to offer.

As such I first comtemplated a swap with the EU/US units that all of you are more familiar with. This option would provide me the SD capability, full FM radio, and English menus. However, the navigation would still be useless and neither would most of the add-ons such as sat. radio (unavailable here) and BT (probably uncompatible with local phones and language display issues)

The functions that I would like to have are multiple aux. ins (for DMB, DVD, or even a standalone navigation) and iPod connections.