Audi Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I recently installed an RNS-E unit into my girlfriend's B7 A4. The unit came from a B5 S4 (2000). When I drive I am getting between 4-8 satellites and our position is not moving at the rate we are. In fact, our position updates about once every ten seconds, and when it does we are not pointing in the right direction and it appears we remain static (not moving once our position is updated).

We did not yet Vag the unit for her car, and I am hoping this might be the issue. I also have a unit in my car, and it is working fine.

Any ideas what could be causing this? I am pretty sure it is not a lack of satellites.

TIA!

·
Registered
3,759 Posts
B5 S4 the unit will be coded as an A6 and looking for the speed pulse over the GALA wire.

You need to code it for an A4 in the B7

·
Registered
235 Posts
or..perhaps you didn't run the gala wire?
I'm not an expert like Craigy, but that would be my guess :)

·
Registered
3,759 Posts
speed pulse is available over CAN bus in a B7, but if you really want to, it is available from the cluster. Don't know what connector or pin of the top of my head.

So simple solution, just recode it.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the quick responses. I figured this would be the case.

I did run the Gala wire into the unit.

I will try to recode it tonight and give you guys an update tomorrow.

·
Registered
258 Posts
i did it on the b7.... speed sensor is over can... you DO NOT NEED THE GALA WIRE... try removing the gala wire and see if it works, otherwise you will need to code your RNS as a A4.

·
Registered
235 Posts
I assume a 00 a6 would need the gala wire?

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
dmollico said:
I assume a 00 a6 would need the gala wire?
Correct.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Gala-signal on channel 4?

Reading on measurements on channel 4, gives:
1 - Speed-Signal
2 - x km/h
3 - Reverse signal on/off
4 - N/A