Audi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This weekend I finally got to install my OEM TV tuner. I've been collecting the parts for a few months and finally had a break in my install schedule to get this done. This won't be for everyone as I went a bit crazy and decided to go all OEM parts for this including antennas. I got really lucky on ebay with the TV tuner, this part is about $1700 (best price) by itself from Audi parts.

First, the parts list:

OEM TV Tuner for RNS-E: 4D0 919 146 C
TV tuner bracket: 4D0 919 892
TV tuner bracket support for Sedan: 4B5 919 897 A
Screws for TV tuner bracket (x4): N 902 751 01

Antenna harness from TV to Diversity box: 4B9 971 650 AH (this is officially an Avant part, but works fine for the sedan)
Diversity switcher for radio and TV reception: 4D0 035 530 F (C5 A6 ONLY)
Antenna amps for TV and radio: 4B5 035 225 P, Q, R, and S (C5 A6 sedan ONLY)
TV tuner to RNS-E cable available from Kufatec.

Here's the tuner mounted in the back of my sedan, the Avant body style will be slightly different. The bracket and support are actually the same parts used for the CD based navigation drive, so if you have that already then you are one step ahead of the game.

The next step is to replace all the antenna amplifiers and diversity switcher box with the TV capable parts. In the sedan, the amps are at the top and bottom of both sides of the back glass. The diversity box is under the rear parcel shelf. To get to these parts, you must remove the C and D pillar trims and the rear parcel shelf. Replacing the amps and diversity box is easy, just unbolt them and swap out your old parts for the new parts. Once this is done, simply use the TV antenna harness to connect the TV tuner to the new diversity switcher.

The top left antenna is also for AM...