Audi Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, been reading through just about every post regarding vag coding that is on this and other audi websites. It is obvious that we all need ross tech and vag com software, however, it is not quite obvious to me that we need the VERY expensive cables. We've definitely got to get some clarification on this deal with generic cables working with Vag-com.

I'm a BIG fan of ross-tech....they helped me back in 01 when I had a 99.5 A4. However, I used to work in the automotive engineering business, and there is no reason we should have to pay $349 for a simple cable that has 2 k lines and a CAN line. I'm happy to pay for the software licensce, because that's paying for development time. But the cable is another matter.

Please, anyone who has gotten a generic cable to work with a version high enough to communicate with the RNS-E post where we can get them!

·
Registered
19 Posts
With the new cables, the cable price IS the license, as the cable serves as the hardware key that verifies that you are the rightful owner of the software.

I personally think this is a great system, as I only use VAG-COM when I make upgrades and changes in my system. If I upgrade my laptop and then need to use VAG-COM, I can just download the latest version of the software with no hassles at all and get to work. No keys to enter, no activation, just install the software and go.

On the other hand, I forgot to uninstall the license on my Bentley's CD before I wiped my hard drive, so now I can't use it.

357 Posts
I was able to code the RNS-E using a generic cable and vag com 409.1 (full version). Haven't had to do the bluetooth yet, but that looks like it will need the newest Vag Com which I will be buying a little later.

·
Premium Member
11,350 Posts
daves_s6 said:
On the other hand, I forgot to uninstall the license on my Bentley's CD before I wiped my hard drive, so now I can't use it.