Audi Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
trying to install audi navigation plus into 2005 audi a4 b6
i have a 2005 a4 (b6) and i cant find the 10 pin harness in my car.
Also- when i couldnt do the install and i put my symphony II back in, my car shut down went into SAFE MODE. Not my stereo, my entire car.
WHy is this and how do i make sure it doesnt happen again when i do install?

BY SAFE MODE I MEAN : under my trip odometer when i put key in ignition it states: SAFE If I put key in ignition and turn, car starts up and shuts down immediately. Its a safety feature by Audi (i.e immobilizer).
I was told by Audi road side assistance that i needed to have my car towed to closest audi dealership for my keys to be reprogrammed?

MY QUESTION IS: How do I make sure this doesnt happen after (if i find a way) installation of Nav+? Is it as simple as not disconnecting battery during install or what???????
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
are you sure this will take care of my CAR not being in safe mode? or are you talking about my navi not being in safe mode?
thank you for your help

also what about the 10 pin harness??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
Could you explain what you mean by your car being in safe mode? I have never heard about this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
AudiA4B6US said:
Could you explain what you mean by your car being in safe mode? I have never heard about this.

i stated what i mean in my first post under WHAT I MEAN BY SAFE MODE:


THANX
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
jkeep said:
BY SAFE MODE I MEAN : under my trip odometer when i put key in ignition it states: SAFE If I put key in ignition and turn, car starts up and shuts down immediately. Its a safety feature by Audi (i.e immobilizer).
I was told by Audi road side assistance that i needed to have my car towed to closest audi dealership for my keys to be reprogrammed?
Sounds like the matching between the immobiliser and the key has been lost.

Have you tried your spare key(s)?

If you look here http://de.openobd.org/audi/ffb.htm (use Babelfish to translate from German if necessary), there is instructions how to re-match your immobiliser and key.

I've never heard anyone experience this before.

BTW I didn't disconnect the battery when I upgraded my 2004 B6 S4 from Symphony II to RNS-E.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
thank you but link doesnt work.
i do know that the idiots at the custom shop did unplug my battery before they started working. For some reason, I really think this si the cause but not sure.
CAN YOU repost the link for me anyway please.


Also, does anyone know why these "idiots" at the custom shop told me that they needed to connect some wires to a 10 pin harness from my car.
A 10 pin harness that they state my car doesnt have.
Is it me, or is it that these guys had no clue what they were doing even after me printing out all the instructions from the nav+ info site for a4 b6 2002+ install instructions?

any help is appreciated
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
leave the 10pin unconnected. you dont need it unless you are installing a telephone in your car then you will have to move 3 wires from the 10pin to other connectors on the nav+.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
996 Posts
I agree. Leave the red 10 pin connector alone....it is the least of your worries.

Here was our email exchange today:

maybe is it becuase the guys installing my navi
disconnected the battery on the car???


--- Ted Basile <[email protected]> wrote:
> some answers below...
>
> I assume you are referring to the CD-based version
> of the Nav+?
>
>
> Hello,
> I received your email address on www.navplus.us as a
> source on advice for the Audi Navigation PLus
> installation.
> I have a 2005 Audi A4 (B6) 1.8T Quattro (has
> Symphony
> II radio) and i reside in Pennsylvania. I bought
> this
> unit from Audi Germany, part # 8E0 035 192B. I also
> have Adapter to installation, tmc box, and tmc
> cable.
> I went to have this installed on my car at a custom
> shop and through trying to install this for me, they
> ran into a problem towards the end of installation.
>
> Did you provide them with the wiring schematics from
>
> www.nav-plus.com/instructions? There are specific
> instructions for the B6
> A4. Also, I have some pix for installing in a
> 2002-2004 A6....which are 99%
> the same as the B6 A4.
>
>
> They stated that when it came time to attach a wire
> to
> the 10 pin harness, that there was no 10 pin harness
> to attach to. Is this possible?
>
> There is a red 10 pin harness behind some Sym
> I's...but you won't find it
> behind a Sym II (possibly?). FYI - it is red in color. See my
> 84 install pix again.
>
> Also (WHICH IS VERY MAJOR) after they decided they
> couldnt install this navigation unit, and after they
> put back in the Symphony II, my car was set into
> SAFE
> mode (not on the stereo). My car was set into SAFE
> mode (it says this under my trip odometer), which im
> guessing is due to the immobilizer.
>
> Did you try to enter in the 4 digit Sym II security
> code?
>
> Well needless to
> say my car had to get towed to the closest Audi
> dealership and the keys had to be reprogrammed.
> My questions to you are: 1) Why did this happen
> during installation?
>
> Not sure. I would find a stereo shop that is
> familiar with Audis. Maybe,
> if you post this on www.navplus.us....you might
> find someone in penn area
> that can help.
>
> 2) Is there a way to make sure this
> doesnt happen if I try to get it installed from a
> service shop?
>
> not sure...because I don't know exactly what they
> did wrong.
>
> 3) Have you ever heard of this happening
> before.
>
> nope.
>
> I THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ MY
> EMAIL. I TRULY HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME WITH MY
> QUESTIONS
> AND I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT IF YOU CAN GIVE ME
> ANY OTHER INFO/SUGGESTIONS YOU MAY HAVE.
> I HOPE YOU ARE WELL AND GOD BLESS YOU!!!
>
> Best regards,
> josh
> 610-533-7010
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
jkeep said:
thank you but link doesnt work.
I've just clicked on the link and it's good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
PetrolDave said:
jkeep said:
thank you but link doesnt work.
I've just clicked on the link and it's good.
link works now. thx


thank you for all responses -
i have come to conclusion that the custom shop really had no clue, despite them telling me they have installed a navi on a audi tt.
no need for any 10 pin connector
no need to disconnect battery - only to set my car into safe mode
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
jkeep said:
i have come to conclusion that the custom shop really had no clue, despite them telling me they have installed a navi on a audi tt.
That kinda proves they have no clue - the Nav+ won't fit in a TT!!! :shock:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
PetrolDave said:
jkeep said:
i have come to conclusion that the custom shop really had no clue, despite them telling me they have installed a navi on a audi tt.
That kinda proves they have no clue - the Nav+ won't fit in a TT!!! :shock:
lmao - looks like im the idiot.
they worked on my car for 15 hours - i didnt pay them a CENT.
im gonna try and take my car to someone else. a guy that works on audis for parts and stuff.
i would try and do it myself but i dont have 5 hours and plus not sure how difficult it is considering i have only installed car stereos and a pioneer avh-p6500dvd.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
996 Posts
jkeep said:
PetrolDave said:
jkeep said:
i have come to conclusion that the custom shop really had no clue, despite them telling me they have installed a navi on a audi tt.
That kinda proves they have no clue - the Nav+ won't fit in a TT!!! :shock:
lmao - looks like im the idiot.
they worked on my car for 15 hours - i didnt pay them a CENT.
im gonna try and take my car to someone else. a guy that works on audis for parts and stuff.
i would try and do it myself but i dont have 5 hours and plus not sure how difficult it is considering i have only installed car stereos and a pioneer avh-p6500dvd.
Find someone in Penn area that can assist. It's not that bad. There's a guy in PA that installed a RNS-E in his 2003 allroad. ....start there.

-ted
PS: I would also recommend purchasing the plug/play harness (see my pix) from vwnavi.com for your car. It will make the install verrrrrrrry simple. Heck...if you can get your hands on one...I'd even modify it for you (add/remove a few pins)...if you wanted.

Sources:
- vwnavi.com
- www.nav-plus.com
- ebay and ebay.de (search on "audi" and "nav"). Here's one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=75327&item=5773120465&rd=1
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
jkeep said:
trying to install audi navigation plus into 2005 audi a4 b6
i have a 2005 a4 (b6) and i cant find the 10 pin harness in my car.
Also- when i couldnt do the install and i put my symphony II back in, my car shut down went into SAFE MODE. Not my stereo, my entire car.
WHy is this and how do i make sure it doesnt happen again when i do install?

BY SAFE MODE I MEAN : under my trip odometer when i put key in ignition it states: SAFE If I put key in ignition and turn, car starts up and shuts down immediately. Its a safety feature by Audi (i.e immobilizer).
I was told by Audi road side assistance that i needed to have my car towed to closest audi dealership for my keys to be reprogrammed?

MY QUESTION IS: How do I make sure this doesnt happen after (if i find a way) installation of Nav+? Is it as simple as not disconnecting battery during install or what???????
just as a follow up to this - i finally found out today (a week and a half later) that my car is fixed by audi. the reason m car went into safe mode and wouldnt start up is becuase the gd idiots who i hired to install my car (the ones who claim they couldnt install becuase i didnt have the 10 pin harness in my car) these guys when they went to undo everything they did to try and install, FORGOT TO HOOK BACK UP THE 2 WIRES TO MY INSTRUMENT CLUSTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
needless to say this cost me 6 hours of labor and a 482.67 bill payable to audi.
just thought some would get a kick out of my misery.
and thanks for all who have helped me so far.
im gonna go cry now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
I'd have a few conversations.

Go after the shop that screwed it up of course but als question why it would take Audi 6 hours to run a diagnostic to find out the guage cluster is at fault.

Don't give up though. The installation really isn't that difficult. You may just need to find someone local to you from the list.

Ted's already offered to set the harness up for you which will make the unit more or less plug and play. Hopefully you work this out and save the initial install cost you where going to pay to help off set this charge.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
I'd have a few conversations.

Go after the shop that screwed it up of course but als question why it would take Audi 6 hours to run a diagnostic to find out the guage cluster is at fault.

Don't give up though. The installation really isn't that difficult. You may just need to find someone local to you from the list.

Ted's already offered to set the harness up for you which will make the unit more or less plug and play. Hopefully you work this out and save the initial install cost you where going to pay to help off set this charge.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
oh yeah i think im gonna bust some heads. as far as the dealership charging me for 6 hours , my car has been there since last wednesday. they have tried to reprogram the keys only to find that the keys wouldnt program. then they said that my car was showing errors they have never seen before. remember from my end i didnt tell the dealership anything more than i had to. by tinkering with the car, audi doesnt cover that under warranty....... so........... anyway - my cars fixed, hopefully now i get harness fixed up so its plug and play and voila.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
996 Posts
...in the future...if you are having anything done to your car...I would consult www.audiworld.com. Find your appropriate forum...and ask the questions....use the search function etc.

Had you known about Audiworld....you would've found this website...and you would've had your Nav+ installed weeks ago. Not your fault...but a project of this caliber requires a bit more research and planning.

:D
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top