Audi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI guys grls

i am new to audi just purchased a 2004 1800T QUATTRO CONVERTIBLE and i must say i wish i had done it years ago it came fitted with a syphony unit in the console but i want to fit the navplus system and wwould appreciate any help with first identifiying the right navplus unit for the job part number etc

and any other wiring bits and pieces etc also i have never attempted anything like this so easy step by step instructions form someone that is patient :lol: i enclose a picture of my console so you can see my dilemna rying to fit a navplus unit into a space that is half its size :? like i have said take it easy on me im new but eager

or would it be a lot easier to fit a PIONEER AVIC-X1R head unite with sat nav etc ?

i would prefer the navplus unit as i do not want to spoil the look of the console in my car ? [/img]

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
Since you have the single-DIN Concert II head unit and not the double-DIN Symphony II head unit you would first need to retrofit a double-DIN radio cage before you start with the RNS-E. If you have never done this before and have no dealer who would do it for you either, installing a single-DIN 3rd party navi might be the better option.

·
Registered
530 Posts
As mentioned above unfortunately for you you have the single din Concert stereo and NOT the double din Symphony.

The retrofit is possible (I did it last weekend) but involves a significant amount of work (took me about 7 hours).

You'll need the following: a RNS-E unit (8E0 035 192 C was the model I got for a B6 sedan, but you'll need a slightly different model number for the cabriolet), double din climate control (or 'modify'/cut your existing one), a double din chassis/cage, a wiring harness, a GPS antenna, and a radio antenna adaptor.