Audi Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've recently purchased a RNS-E package.

Everything is working fine except there is no satellite signal...
I've done a little bit of research on the forum and found that possibly it's because the DVD disc came with the package is not an original map DVD?

Does anyone know where I can get an 1A disc? eBay?
or I have to purchase the original 2A from my dealer?

thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
The number of satellites you receive has nothing to do with the type of disk you are using.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've also read that the new firmware in DVD version 2A will cause similar issues?

I tried putting the GPS antenna on the dashboard with no luck so far.

Do I need to drive around a bit and wait for a day or something?

Btw, mine is a RNS-E (B - US version) installed on a 2004 Audi A4.


thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
What is the full part number of your RNS-E? Anyway, as soon as you connect a GPS antenna you should start receiving satellites and get at least 3 within a couple of minutes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi, this is a 8H0 035 192 B newly installed on a A4 B6
It keeps on saying I am not on a digitized road and the sat count is ZERO



Map version is 2A



I don't have the CD changer in the glove box so the wirings are pretty simple.










I don't know how this unit was coded but it didn't ask me to put in the security codes after it's been unplugged several times.
It didn't come with the security codes so I guess the function had been removed?

any input will help
thanks a bunch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Did a bit more homework...
Here are the screen shots from the engineering mode:











anyone has a vag-com and a 1A DVD for sell? :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
The 8H0 RNS-E is for the A4 Cabrio and must be recoded before it will work in an A4 Sedan/Avant. Regarding the GPS/SAT issue, check if the blue connector is OK (center oin not broken) and try another GPS antenna if you made sure that the RNS-E is properly coded and still doesn't receive any sat under clear sky.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
I fully agree with Dirk here. The problem is either the GPS antenna (I have had a couple of bad ones lately). If you bought your unit from a trusted seller here, I don't think the actual RNS-E is faulty.

Check your fault codes in VAG. Does it give you a GPS antenna error (such as "short to ground")?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for the advise guys.

Are the codes different in a single DIN and double DIN model?
The RNS-E unit was originally from Ben T:
http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3280

I have all the parts required for a full Single DIN to RNS-E Nav swap. All my parts are BRAND NEW never installed IN ORIGINAL PACKAGING. They are all in mint condition. This list of parts is as follows. The only reason I am selling is because I have had this sitting around for months and I decided I'd rather just sell it and buy a samsung plasma.


-RNS-E Unit (2006 US unit and all contents)
-Double DIN HVAC controls (w/heated seat controls)
-Double DIN Dash cage (holds NAV and HVAC)
-GPS antenna (for mounting under dash, Gallardo version)
-Wiring Harness (NON BOSE, bluetooth & CD changer enabled)
-Diversity antenna adapter
-Copy of US 2006 DVD
-Audi Radio removal keys (set of 4)
-Detailed installation manual
I have a theory... could it be because the Unit was originally coded for some other cars? (A6, Cabrio etc...) thus, needs to recoded to get GPS signal in a A4 B6?
For msharifi, perhaps he had the corrected coding until a new DVD was inserted causes the firmware upgrade to match the original codes that unit was meant for (A6 vs. A4 for instance).

I have ordered a VAG-COM from eBay and will see how it goes...
I am also thinking of getting a new GPS antenna anyway :roll:

Would be interesting know to plugin this baby and see what code it's got.
Perhaps 04 or 05...

Code:
0?xxxxx: Model

1 - Lamborghini
2 - Audi A3 (8P)
3 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
4 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
5 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
6 - Audi TT (> 2004)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
Receiving satellites is not dependent on any coding, as soon as you plug in a working antenna it should start receiving satellites.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I see.

I've verified the blue connector a number of times that it is good.
(No, the center ping is not broken)

Well, I guess I should try a new GPS antenna if that's the case.

Thanks a lot AudiA4B6US!

Found more info:

Code:
8P0 035 192 A Audi A3 Europe (MY 2006, without SDS), 8P
8P0 035 192 B Audi A3 North America (Basic, MY 2006), 8P
8P0 035 192 C Audi A3 North America (MY 2006, maybe with SDS), 8P
8P0 035 192 F Audi A3 Europe (MY 2006, with SDS), 8P
8P0 035 192 G Audi A3 North America (MY 2006, maybe with SDS, sw US 0110), 8P
8E0 035 192 C Audi A4 Europe, B6/B7
8E0 035 192 D Audi A4 Europe (B7, MY 2006, without SDS)
8E0 035 192 E Audi A4 North America (B7, MY 2005.5)
8E0 035 192 F Audi A4 North America (B7, MY 2006)
8E0 035 192 H Audi A4 Europe (B7, MY 2006, with SDS)
8E0 035 192 J Audi A4 North America (B7, MY 2006, with SDS)
8H0 035 192 Audi A4 Cabrio Europe Basic, B6
8H0 035 192 A Audi A4 Cabrio Europe (B7, MY 2006, with SDS?) (*)
8H0 035 192 B Audi A4 Cabrio North America (B6, MY 2005.5)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
metronet said:
Thanks for the advise guys.

Are the codes different in a single DIN and double DIN model?
The RNS-E unit was originally from Ben T:
http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3280

I have all the parts required for a full Single DIN to RNS-E Nav swap. All my parts are BRAND NEW never installed IN ORIGINAL PACKAGING. They are all in mint condition. This list of parts is as follows. The only reason I am selling is because I have had this sitting around for months and I decided I'd rather just sell it and buy a samsung plasma.


-RNS-E Unit (2006 US unit and all contents)
-Double DIN HVAC controls (w/heated seat controls)
-Double DIN Dash cage (holds NAV and HVAC)
-GPS antenna (for mounting under dash, Gallardo version)
-Wiring Harness (NON BOSE, bluetooth & CD changer enabled)
-Diversity antenna adapter
-Copy of US 2006 DVD
-Audi Radio removal keys (set of 4)
-Detailed installation manual
I have a theory... could it be because the Unit was originally coded for some other cars? (A6, Cabrio etc...) thus, needs to recoded to get GPS signal in a A4 B6?
For msharifi, perhaps he had the corrected coding until a new DVD was inserted causes the firmware upgrade to match the original codes that unit was meant for (A6 vs. A4 for instance).

I have ordered a VAG-COM from eBay and will see how it goes...
I am also thinking of getting a new GPS antenna anyway :roll:

Would be interesting know to plugin this baby and see what code it's got.
Perhaps 04 or 05...

Code:
0?xxxxx: Model

1 - Lamborghini
2 - Audi A3 (8P)
3 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
4 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
5 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
6 - Audi TT (> 2004)
My RNS-E was coded for A4 not A6. Lenny coded my unit and he said everything is coded correctly for A4. I ordered a copy of 2A only to use the firmware and used my 1A disc after and my unit was only acting up on the GPS signal and everything else was fine. None of my connecters were bad or my GPS which I ordered a second one and was same 0 to 1 signal would show up and go back to 0. I return the unit to the seller and got another one used the same cable that I bought from Euro-parts and after connecting I had 4-6 signals. After that I never used the 2A disc nor any updates are on 2A disc beside the clock displaying on RNS-E.

Alot of troubleshooting needed to be done in order to figure out what caused the unit to not get any GPS signal after upgrading the Firmware from 2A disc. But since I didnt have the right cable or the VAG software I did not bother to check.

My current RNS-E has a 1A oreginal Map disc with 1A firmware and Shark Fin that I installed a month ago. current GPS signal I get is solid 8 signals.

I highley recommend getting a Shark fin antenna installed on the roof. Even if you dont use the SAT redio you can just get the GPS/and FM or GSM bulit in. My cost for the GPS Shark fin was $130 which I got lucky since my bodyshop painted for free with my car color.





 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
UPDATE!

Got my eBay vag-com today.

Here is the error code:
VAG-COM Version: Release 409.1-US

Control Module Part Number: 8H0 035 192 B
Component and/or Version: RNS-E US3 H53 0110
Software Coding: 0413100
Work Shop Code: WSC 00000
1 Faults Found:
00862 - Antenna for GPS Navigation (R50/R52)
007 - Short to Ground

Interesting enough, the Soft. Coding is 0413100
I believe I need to change that to 0309115 correct?

I guess my GPS antenna is indeed toasted?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
This is an A4 Cabrio unit and is coded for such. Change the coding, get a new GPS antenna and the issues should be history.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Your GPS antenna is definitely broken. I have had a few of these lately and heard of others having the same problems.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Guys, thank you all for the help! ;)

I am now able to get 7 sats after plugging in the new antenna.
Using the same 2A disc still and instrument is now coded with 62 - 21.

If anyone in Vancouver, BC area ever need a VAG... let me know, I'd like to help.

cheers!
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top