Audi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
brianjpugh said:
More to come posting from my pocketpc in the car
Cool :!: Details please...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
update

I have the files and thanks again to AudiA4B6US for pulling the info off the euro disk

I just updated exactly as listed below after copy the following files

INDEX.TXT
00.VNS
LDM.BIN:
LOADING.KWI
A2220132.MOT


Index.txt:
SOFIDX:0360
NAVVER:V220059J
AUDVER:A2210131

00.VNS:
V22000 059J

LDM.BIN:
V220059J

LOADING.KWI:
V220
059J
LDR V220059J
APL V220057B
FNT V220055A
OS V220059H

Was not bad just insert disk wait about a minute or so then update starts it takes a few minutes then unit resets and after another minute a "software updating" screen appears for a few more minutes then it resets again and promtpts for pin.

Then you connect your phone, put it in the trunk/glovebox and dial from the RNSe its simply wonderful i love it :)

so far everything seems fine AM/FM/XM/CD/MP3/TV/NAV all worked but i will try scaning on AM/FM to check that tuning is okay.

Also no new ideas how the clock on RNSe works but this morning it was within 6 minutes and i'll see if that holds tonight (doubtful).

Now i have 3 and 1/2 projects:

1) remove disclaimer
2) remove or fix clock for B5 cars
3) no power off when key is turned off
1/2) try to get the/a phone book to transfer OR enter the manually as i can dial from RNSe names
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Re: update

brianjpugh said:
I have the files and thanks again to AudiA4B6US for pulling the info off the euro disk

I just updated exactly as listed below after copy the following files

INDEX.TXT
00.VNS
LDM.BIN:
LOADING.KWI
A2220132.MOT


Index.txt:
SOFIDX:0360
NAVVER:V220059J
AUDVER:A2210131

00.VNS:
V22000 059J

LDM.BIN:
V220059J

LOADING.KWI:
V220
059J
LDR V220059J
APL V220057B
FNT V220055A
OS V220059H

Was not bad just insert disk wait about a minute or so then update starts it takes a few minutes then unit resets and after another minute a "software updating" screen appears for a few more minutes then it resets again and promtpts for pin.

Then you connect your phone, put it in the trunk/glovebox and dial from the RNSe its simply wonderful i love it :)

so far everything seems fine AM/FM/XM/CD/MP3/TV/NAV all worked but i will try scaning on AM/FM to check that tuning is okay.

Also no new ideas how the clock on RNSe works but this morning it was within 6 minutes and i'll see if that holds tonight (doubtful).

Now i have 2 and 1/2 projects:

1) remove disclaimer
2) remove or fix clock for B5 cars
1/2) try to get the/a phone book to transfer OR enter the manually as i can dial from RNSe names
what index (S/W) # is shown on Version INFO screen? still X-- or different?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
need place to put files (zip file is 7MB too big for most email)

PROXUS-

still shows X--- but when i inserted update cd it said something like "Software Update Version 360".

is there something else to change to get correct version "110" to show on RNSe - there were a few question i had about changing:

The issue is if i follow exact directions on making update cd i end up with 3 differences:

1) In LOADING.KWI there is a second V222 on about the fifth line which i did not change
-worked fine

2) In LOADING.KWI there are actually 2 lines with APL
-only the first was changed the second was not and it worked fine

3)In the INDEX.TXT file the AUDVER:A2210126 does not match actual name of MOT file on the update cd - the actual MOT file has not had name changed to euro name "A2210126.MOT" but left as US name "A2220109.MOT"
-again the update worked fine
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
515 Posts
awesome!!..

sounds like it thinks it is SW 0360, so it should work on SW 330 right??..

since it is still X___ it appears this may be necessary everytime a new update is released..

great job!!..

hope you are sucessful on your other 3-1/2 projects..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
had the files from brianjpugh and no luck updating a D unit with S/W of 360... didnt think it would work but just giving you guys a heads up.. guess D units are still useless in the US...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
SWEEEET!! THanks PROXUS and Brian...

Version D units or units with the S/W of 330 or 360 are NOW usable in the US!

took the files from brian and changed the value index to just 370 and it works like a charm now! :lol:

Version came up just X.. i saw thats how most of them are coming up now...

pm if you have any questions or problems
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
I wonder which version string it uses to see if it should update and which ones are the version the software thinks it is (and for that matter if they are different). It would be nice to convince the nav system to upgrade, but then have it realise that it's actually version 110 so we wouldn't have to ever hack on an upgrade CD again.

That or if someone happens to have access to the mythical audi reset cd...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
515 Posts
the people on this forum never cease to amaze me!!!!!!...

great work everyone..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
It seems there has been a few new developments in the last few days. :D

So...Let me see if I got this.

We can now do the update to the newest system files (newest version being called 110 or 370 if you read the previous posts) and we can still use the DVD maps we have now?

So, if we get the 2006 US disk in the future after doing the update. Will there be any ill effects when it's inserted in to the RNS-E?

Does this update only add the Bluetooth functions, additionally supported phones along with additional phone functions?

Who worked on getting this to work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Now that I have the 2A disk in the Nav Unit, do I have to extract the files and make another disk to upgrade or will just inserting the factory disk start the process automatically?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
515 Posts
if you have a real US RNS-E (E or F), the new 2a DVD will update automatically..

if you have a EU RNS-E with US software (C or D), you need to make an update disc..
 
1 - 20 of 58 Posts
Top