Audi Forum banner

181 - 200 of 234 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
So another way to solve my problem is to change RNS-E unit that is compotable with my amplifier and rear screen, it's regarding to PR codes of the parts.
That WON'T solve it .... as I already said ALL RNS-E versions of ALL YEARS need the SAME antenna signals - HF & ZF.

It doesn't matter if it's an RNS-E from 2004 (8E0 035 192 C) or from 2010 (8P0 035 193 C) - the antenna signals they need are the same. I know from personal experience that is TRUE, since I've had both those models fitted into my 2006 RS4 (and an 8E0 035 192 H in between them).

So changing the RNS-E in your car will achieve precisely .... NOTHING.

As already said to solve the antenna fault problem you must buy and fit the ANTENNA AMPLIFIERS that would have been fitted to YOUR car (model AND year) if it had been fitted with an RNS-E at the factory.

To repeat, changing the RNS-E in your car will achieve precisely .... NOTHING.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Okay! GOOD! =D

I see that you bought the "P" version and replaced the one you hade with that. Is that the one i should get for my 08?

If thats the case im ordering one tomorrow!

Cheers!
the only thing you have to do, is buy a "p" or "Q" aerial amplifier and cut the hooks of one of the fakra connectors (IF/IN)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
That WON'T solve it .... as I already said ALL RNS-E versions of ALL YEARS need the SAME antenna signals - HF & ZF.

It doesn't matter if it's an RNS-E from 2004 (8E0 035 192 C) or from 2010 (8P0 035 193 C) - the antenna signals they need are the same. I know from personal experience that is TRUE, since I've had both those models fitted into my 2006 RS4 (and an 8E0 035 192 H in between them).

So changing the RNS-E in your car will achieve precisely .... NOTHING.

As already said to solve the antenna fault problem you must buy and fit the ANTENNA AMPLIFIERS that would have been fitted to YOUR car (model AND year) if it had been fitted with an RNS-E at the factory.

To repeat, changing the RNS-E in your car will achieve precisely .... NOTHING.
Dear Dave.
I don't want to be annoing, but as I wrote, I have compared cars mine (without factory RNS) and many more cars that does have RNS-E from the stock, and they do have SAME PARTS! But RNS-E's on all cars were with letters R. Anyway I just tryed to take VIN's from eBay from cars that I selling and putting them on ETKA told me that this cars are all has depending on RNS-E different Amp and screen.
Maybe I'm too dump, but I can't understand if the parts are complete the same, what do I have to change?
The last thing is RNS-E. I now that all RNS-E use HF & ZF signals, but the amps are different depending on year of car and RNS-E!!! As some parts guys told me, you CAN install later RNS-E on older amps, but not vise verse. So it looks like changing RNS-E should solve the problem. But I can't understand on ETKA.

there is R version that seems to me were installed on Audi from 07 to 08…
and T version that were installed on 06-07 correct or not?
If it's correct I can't understand, I thought, that T were newer than R, higher letter - never version.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
I don't want to be annoing, but as I wrote, I have compared cars mine (without factory RNS) and many more cars that does have RNS-E from the stock, and they do have SAME PARTS!
Any car that was fitted with a Series II radio or RNS-E will have the same amps, but a car fitted with a Series II+ radio will have different amps.

The last thing is RNS-E. I now that all RNS-E use HF & ZF signals, but the amps are different depending on year of car and RNS-E!!! As some parts guys told me, you CAN install later RNS-E on older amps, but not vise verse.
Never, ever believe what an Audi dealer parts guys tells you... verify it elsewhere.

The amps are different depending on the year of the car ONLY - you can fit ANY year of RNS-E into ANY year of car that has the amps that produce the HF/ZF antenna signals, so the year of the RNS-E is NOT a factor - period.

I'll say it one last time (yes, I'm losing my patience with you) you MUST fit the amps that would have been fitted to YOUR car IF you had ordered it with an RNS-E or Series II radio from the factory, and NOT the amps that would have been fitted if it had a Series II+ radio from the factory.

That's all you need to understand and do - do not confuse yourself by making what is very simple seem very complicated - it's not. A little knowledge causes confusion...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Any car that was fitted with a Series II radio or RNS-E will have the same amps, but a car fitted with a Series II+ radio will have different amps.


Never, ever believe what an Audi dealer parts guys tells you... verify it elsewhere.

The amps are different depending on the year of the car ONLY - you can fit ANY year of RNS-E into ANY year of car that has the amps that produce the HF/ZF antenna signals, so the year of the RNS-E is NOT a factor - period.

I'll say it one last time (yes, I'm losing my patience with you) you MUST fit the amps that would have been fitted to YOUR car IF you had ordered it with an RNS-E or Series II radio from the factory, and NOT the amps that would have been fitted if it had a Series II+ radio from the factory.

That's all you need to understand and do - do not confuse yourself by making what is very simple seem very complicated - it's not. A little knowledge causes confusion...

Dear Dave, I'm really sorry to make you mad.
I'm really confused, because there is no real specialist here with who I can talk about it.
So, let's get some examples.
Here is VIN WAUDF78E57A121052 it's the car from USA with factory RNS-E, and it has SAME AMP THAT I HAVE! Also SAME SCREEN… but never RNS-E…. that also make me loose my patience… because I don't understand this situation…
Also, I have looked other cars with RNS-E…. they ALL have same amp as I do.

So you still think that I need to buy another amp?
They all have AF amps…and OK, I use to have before RNS-E Audi Concert

Is that Series II or II +?


Can you please tell me witch is Series II and II + I'll try to find a car with II+ and I'll try to find parts according to VIN.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts

Is that Series II or II +?
Series II+


Can you please tell me witch is Series II and II + I'll try to find a car with II+ and I'll try to find parts according to VIN.
You absolutely do NOT want the antenna amplifiers from a Series II+ equipped car, you MUST fit the antenna amplifiers from a Series II (or RNS-E) equipped car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Series II+



You absolutely do NOT want the antenna amplifiers from a Series II+ equipped car, you MUST fit the antenna amplifiers from a Series II (or RNS-E) equipped car.

Dave, but RNS-E cars has same amps!? That is what I'm talking about.

Which models are Series II?

Is it Series II?

Just spend 3 hours to find all 2008 Cars in eBay check their VIN and ALL CARS WITH FACTORY RNS-E FITTED HAVE SAME AMP AS I DO!! It's 8E5035225AF!!! Now I'm stuck! What next? Dave any ideas?
For example if you have ETKA check this VIN WAUGL78E68A045204 it's USA S4 B7 2008, Mine is 2008 A4. So if I'm right, USA cars has Symphony and European cars Concert they do look similar.
Also I have found, that all cars that model year is 2008 has only 2Din Symphony in USA and Concert in Europe. Or RNS-E. So you told me that I have to find a car with Series II head unit with same year as My car, but I think it's impossible, as I understand Series II cars were preriour 2008….

 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Just spend 3 hours to find all 2008 Cars in eBay check their VIN and ALL CARS WITH FACTORY RNS-E FITTED HAVE SAME AMP AS I DO!! It's 8E5035225AF!!! Now I'm stuck! What next? Dave any ideas?
Since your car was fitted with a Series II+ radio (see below) then I doubt that is true.

I understand Series II cars were preriour 2008….
The Series II+ units started being fitted in MY 2007, but cars with RNS-E were fitted with the "original" amplifiers as used with Series II radios.

So if you have a 2008 MY car that was fitted with an Audi radio that WILL be a Series II+ radio and you WILL have the WRONG amplifiers for an RNS-E retrofit.

That's a Symphony II+.

The Symphony II has a much smaller display.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Since your car was fitted with a Series II+ radio (see below) then I doubt that is true.


The Series II+ units started being fitted in MY 2007, but cars with RNS-E were fitted with the "original" amplifiers as used with Series II radios.

So if you have a 2008 MY car that was fitted with an Audi radio that WILL be a Series II+ radio and you WILL have the WRONG amplifiers for an RNS-E retrofit.


That's a Symphony II+.

The Symphony II has a much smaller display.
So I need to look at MY 2007 cars with RNS-E, correct? And I need to check part number from car that was fitted RNS-E in 2007? (2006-2007 cars) Correct?

Just checked with eBay USA car with RNS-E fitted from stock (MY 2007) VIN WAUDF78EX7A148358 and it also has AF amp. Maybe I need MY 2006?

Just check with MY2006 car (waudf78e46a179765) they have 8E5035225P amp and ANOTHER REAR SCREEN. So what does it mean? I need to change AMP and Screen?

Well. but how can 2008 car from stock can be fitted with RNS-E with AF amp??



Dave I really can't understand if the car, that has same manufaction date with mine has factory RNS-E and has same Amp (AF).. then RNS-E should also has poor reception… (But it was assembled on the Audi Factory…)….
Do you have ETKA maybe you can check which amp do I need… ?



Now I even more confused, I asked one guy from UK to give his VIN, he's got Audi A4 B7 MY2008 and he's got RNS-E from the stock, and according to ETKA he's car got 8E5035225S and 8E5035225AF…. what does it mean?
Rear screen of his car is 8E5845501N and mine is… R!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
I think I have found the problem! It's rear screen! From car to car there is 3 different rear screens, Ist is for cars without navi it's with letter R. Another is with RNS-E cars with 6 connectors with amp and amps are with letter S or P. And the last screen is P it's also with navi but with 4 connectors with amp and amp like on Series II+ (AF).
So the main difference seems to me is a screen….
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Thanks to everybody for this research! I will also replace the amp on my 2007 A4 Avant. Could somebody give me some instructions how to remove side trim from the trunk? I have undestood that the amp is located on left hand side of the trunk, when looking at the car from rear?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
Today I have found, that it looks like there is 4 antenas are on the rear screen, so I just need an amp with 4 connectors for rns-e can anyone help me with exect part number, please.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I did change my AF-type amplifier to P-type amplifier for my 2007 A4 Avant and it seems to work quite well. I have not been able to check with VAG-COM yet, but reception seems to better.

I already made a converter described in first page of this thread and I can sell it to anyone who is interested. It has all the the cables etc. so it it ready for install.



Please PM me if you are interested.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
I did change my AF-type amplifier to P-type amplifier for my 2007 A4 Avant and it seems to work quite well. I have not been able to check with VAG-COM yet, but reception seems to better.

I already made a converter described in first page of this thread and I can sell it to anyone who is interested. It has all the the cables etc. so it it ready for install.



Please PM me if you are interested.
Hello.
Can I use it for Audi A4 B7 limousine?
And how much it will be?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Nectop, please read the first few pages of this thread describing this converter and how it works. As I understood it you will still get the error code but the reception will be much better.

JohnS3 says:

"You'll need these parts -
- GOLF diversity module 1T0 035 530 -> Vagparts £77.81 + VAT
- Power connector 1C0 973 119B -> Vagparts £1.19 + VAT
- 1 x repair cable (this gives 2 pre-wired connectors) 000 979 009 -> Vagparts £0.98 + VAT
- 2 x adaptor cables -> Krenn.at 76 Euro delivered to the UK. A PDF schematic for the cables is available here http://www.audi4ever.at/phpbb3/downl...f9d3bfb37d55cd"

You will get the whole adaptor for price of the cables if you are interested, 76 eur, since I have no use for it any more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
The solution to changing Concert/Symphony II+ antenna configuration to RNS-E/BNS 5.0/Concert/Symphony II (without +) can be found via here:

Notes on changing Audi A3 double DIN radio to factory navigation
http://a6retrofit.tripod.com/articles/a3concerttornse.html

Nectop, please read the first few pages of this thread describing this converter and how it works. As I understood it you will still get the error code but the reception will be much better.

JohnS3 says:

"You'll need these parts -
- GOLF diversity module 1T0 035 530 -> Vagparts £77.81 + VAT
- Power connector 1C0 973 119B -> Vagparts £1.19 + VAT
- 1 x repair cable (this gives 2 pre-wired connectors) 000 979 009 -> Vagparts £0.98 + VAT
- 2 x adaptor cables -> Krenn.at 76 Euro delivered to the UK. A PDF schematic for the cables is available here http://www.audi4ever.at/phpbb3/downl...f9d3bfb37d55cd"

You will get the whole adaptor for price of the cables if you are interested, 76 eur, since I have no use for it any more.
This solution will not fully work. See the above link to find JonhS3's later real solution and some pictures of the antenna configurations etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
John me old cockle, did you notice on your rear screen the top right location where an antenna maybe sits there were 2 solder points as I have been installing a sharkfin for the rns in missus SB & noticed the rear screen had 2 wire stubs soldered in that location but no amp, from elsa it would appear to show another amp but thinking this is maybe for TV aswell, will further check just curious if you saw what I have mate, I'll check my 3dr tomorrow aswell see if this has similar thing.

PS. Hows the new motor?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
359 Posts
Hi Nige, Yes indeed, it looked as you described. I too thought it was for a TV amp.
Will send that scan of the parking system soon! Fire me a PM with your email addy
 
181 - 200 of 234 Posts
Top