Audi Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that my RNS-E is happily doing the business in my A3, I'm keen to pursue an idea I've had regarding the transfer of MP3s to SD cards in the RNS-E and wanted to get some more ideas from you guys on this forum.

I work as a software developer and away from the office have been playing around with some code that rips tracks from audio CDs and codes them into MP3s. I built a skin for Windows Media Player over summer (see this post here) and am working on a similar kind of Windows user interface (i.e. a picture of the RNS-E on your screen) from which you can create MP3s from CDs, and then transfer them to SD cards using a card reader all from one application.

The clever bit would be to manage the MP3s properly on the SD card to work best with the RNS-E. This means creating m3u playlists, renaming tracks to appear in the order you like (a common problem), shortening names and so on. There would also be other tools to do things like format your card into FAT32, ensure you don't add more than 512 tracks (the RNS-E) limit and whatever else we'd need.

I'd also like to add a quick, one-touch ripping process, where you plug in your SD card reader and insert an audio CD, and the application rips the whole album to a collection of MP3s, prepares them into a playlist and copies the lot to your SD card.

It's early days right now - I can't even think of a decent name for this application - but if anyone has any ideas, thoughts or comments please post them. If this ever comes together, I will of course make it downloadable free of charge! I've got a couple of screens done to show what it might look like:

Any comments or ideas would be welcomed!

·
Registered
70 Posts
What langauge/platform would you build it on? I would definitely like an application like this, and I have some experience with building windows apps using the .NET Framework.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·