Audi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In this post I will try to summarize months of testing and research.
If you have pack of good cigars and 3 hours of free time you can review full painfull process over here:

http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=772

For all the rest here it is.........

What you should know

Since European dealers offer TEL functionality for some time now, all EU units have TEL functionality build in the software (from what I find out all above 0080). US customers are not that fortunate. Even if you will call your dealer today he will mostlikely tell you that IT'S IMPOSSIBLE 8)

..well it is possible :wink:

Along with new 2006 US DVD maps AOA decided to include new firmware with TEL functionality. Now you are able to connect TEL interface with your RNS-E and enjoy some pretty neat features. So remember your US unit need to be upgraded with 0110 firmware in order see any TEL functions:

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]349[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]



what about people with EU units upgraded to US?

They don't need to worry...somehow upgrading to US didn't disabled TEL functionality so if you own unit like that you will be able to connect your phone even without additional upgrade. If you want to do it anyway please read other posts on this forum about EU - to - US 1A - to - US 2A upgrade.
Some people working on that (but that's separate story)

What I need for BT install?

You will definitely need TEL interface box. There is many different models but from what I found out US interface is marked with letter "B"

thoseare part numbers of various interfaces:

8E0 862 335 <MY 2005.5 A4 (US)
8P0 862 335 <MY 2004 A3
8P0 862 335 A MY 2004 A3/A4
8P0 862 335 D MY 2005 A4 >8E-5-533 000
8P0 862 335 E MY 2005 A4 8E-5-533 001>>8E-5-600 000
8P0 862 335 C MY 2006 A4 8E-6-000 001/8E-6-800 001>>
8P0 862 335 B MY 2006 A3/A4 (US) - newest one / used in tests

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]257[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]

you will also need 3 very important accessories:

- Bluetooth antenna - part# 8P0 035 503E

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]347[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


- Audi Microphone - part# 8L1 862 373A

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]346[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


- TEL interface cable

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]359[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]

I didn't find any cable direct from Audi but one of the German companies KUFATEC is offering perfect TEL interface cable. (you can buy it through US supplierson this forum)

Now you got all hardware so lets try to squeeze those gadgets into your car. Preffered and recommended place for TEL interface is under passanger seat. I was pretty scared (and lazy) of vision of taking my car appart so I used some space in glovebox to install my interface. I will try to explain both ways so you can choose what is the best for you.

Installation

Both installations are pretty much the same .....they only vary with location of the TEL box. This is step by step installation with box under the passanger seat (unfortunately only in German so it wil be great if someone will have time to translate it)

#pdf - TEL INTERFACE INTALLATION (under the seat) in German

Now ...version for laz...easy version \:D/

You need to prepare your glovebox...I had already Blaupunkt ME3 DVD/TV player installed so wholeright part of the glovebox was available.
There is few different locations where you can squeeze it...I used inside but you can also install it hidden in the back. Wherever you got some space to fit the box.

I made some openings in the back of the glovebox to run main TEL cable and BT antenna.

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]274[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


that's how it looks after box is in

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]275[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


this is wiring inside....as you see Kufatec cable is equipped with additional cradle wires and external antenna. I really don't need that especially when I use bluetooth so I rolled those unused wires. Some people just cut them off.

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]279[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


and this is front view - note that I cut little divider/wall between compartments to support TEL box weight.

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]276[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


Since TEL cable doesn't have any connectors from NAV side (except MIC) you will need to patch CAN wires into CAN wires from your harness (see otherdiagrams on this forum), K-Line and TEL +/- & MUTE (most adapters are prewired for TEL so you can use those wires)

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]277[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]

You will also need to connect your MIC, but be aware that OEM Audi MIC is coming with very short wire. Mostlikely you will need to make extension and run it to your preffered location. I used a place next to rear view mirror. One morething....i tested 3rd party MICs but none of them worked well enough so finaly I ended up with original one (expensive too)



Now you need to find power source (be sure to DISCONECT BATTERY before connecting power, I fried one fuse because I didn't do it). You have 2 options...either you want to have your TEL interface ON al the time or just when ignition is on. I personally preffer second option because... imagine that you are talking with friend outside a car and all calls are switched to RNS-E because your module is ON even car is not....and believe me this Bluetooth have very nice range so it can be annoing. Enuff said I connected power to fuse box so every time I turn my car ON mu TEL module is ON.

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]278[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]

if you connected everything correct it is time for .....

Coding TEL interface

You will need VAG tool to do that, and be sure that your VAG is at least version 5.10 with latest firmware (loaded automatically to cable). I used HEX-USB-CAN for my testing:



This cable is not cheap so you can ask someone to help you or ask seller if he can code it for your car before shipment.

now it's time for NUM83R2 :D

You need to access #77 Telephone to code your box.
this is what VAG is showing when connecting to TEL interface. US units have 7 digit soft coding string while EU units have 5 digits. For now I'm using 0010777 for my US unit.




Below you have coding values for your interface:

# 77 (Phone)
Coding - Function 07
HU = Head Unit (i.e. RNS-D/E)
MFL = Multifunction Steeringwheel

?xxxx: type (car)
0 - with CAN-bus (A2, A3, TT)
1 - D3/C6 High-System
2 - C6 Standard-System

x?xxx: type (Steeringwheel)
0 - non multifunction steering wheel
1 - standard steering wheel
2 - modular steering wheel

xx?xx: installed components
1 - none
2 - MFL
3 - HU
4 - MFL and HU
5 - K-line
6 - MFK and K-line
7 - HU and K-line
8 - MFL, HU and K-line

xxx?x: language for voice control
0 - voice control off
1 - German
2 - English (UK)
3 - French
4 - Italian
5 - Spanish
7 - English (US)
8 - Voice control from external device (i.e. RNS-E)

xxxx?: Language for DIS
0 - no DIS display
1 - German
2 - English (UK)
3 - French
4 - Italian
5 - Spanish
7 - English (US)


#77 Adaptation 10

-> Channel 128 (Base Volume)
000 - 0dB (no increase/decrease)
001 - +1dB increase
003 - +3dB increase
006 - +6dB increase
128 - -1dB decrease
130 - -3dB decrease
133 - -6dB decrease

-> Channel 129 time after ignition off
000 - 30 Sekunden
001 - 5 Minuten
002 - 10 Minuten
240 - 20 Stunden

-> Channel 131 (Microphone Sensitivity)
000 - 0dB (no increase/decrease)
001 - +1dB increase
002 - +2dB increase
003 - +3dB increase
004 - +4dB increase
005 - +5dB increase
006 - +6dB increase
128 - -1dB decrease
129 - -2dB decrease
130 - -3dB decrease
131 - -4dB decrease
132 - -5dB decrease
133 - -6dB decrease

-> Channel 133 (BT)
BT activate/deactivate.

-> Channel 134 (handsfree)
0 - handsfree over BT
1 - handsfree only with mobile in cradle

-> Channel 135 (BT-PassKey)
default: 1234



Coding your Navigation unit

Once your TEL interface is coded, you will need to recode your RNS-E to let them connect togeher. Some RNS-E units will work right away some not. This is sample VAG screen from B7 install:

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]330[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]

3rd digit from the end will define your TEL interface manufacturer. And here we got a problem.....US unit is made by TEMIC which supose to be #2...but for some reason most of US units don't allow this numberin the string...I selected #6 for now because it's working fine but to get all functionality you will need to check if your phone is compatible with RNS-E .

Below you have coding values for RNS-E:

STG 56 (Navigation System) -> Coding -> Function 07

0?xxxxx: Model
1 - Audi A2
2 - Audi A3 (8P)
3 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
4 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
5 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
6 - Audi TT (> 2004)

0x?xxxx: Diagnostics
0 - activ
1 - inactiv

0xx?xxx: Sound characteristics
0 - linear
1 - Audi A4 (> 2004)
2 - Audi A6 (< 2004)
3 - Audi A4 Cabriolet (> 2004)
4 - Audi TT (> 2004)
5 - Audi A3 (8P)
9 - Bose Soundsystem

0xxx?xx: Telephone/telematics
1 - no telephone (supply voltage for microphone actively)
2 - Mobile phone preparation (Temic - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
3 - Mobile phone preparation (Cullmann - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
4 - Mobile phone preparation (Nokia - Speisesp. Microphone inactively)
5 - Telematics Europe (supply voltage microphone inactively)
6 - Telematics US (supply voltage microphone inactively)
7 - Base plate diagnostic capable with comfort control

0xxxx?x: Options I
1 - default
2 - Digital-Radio
3 - Satelite-Radio
4 - Satelite- and Digital-Radio

0xxxxx?: Options II
1 - default
2 - TV-Tuner
3 - CD-Changer
4 - TV-Tuner and CD-Changer
5 - Multifunction Steering Wheel
6 - TV-Tuner and Multifunction Steering Wheel
7 - CD-Changer and Multifunction Steering Wheel
8 - TV-Tuner, CD-Changer und Multifunction Steering Wheel


you can also code your DIS to show TEL (didnt test it yet)

STG 17 (Instrument cluster) -> Adaptation -> Function 10 -> Channel 62
+01 - Radio
+02 - Telefon
+04 - Navigation
+08 - Telematics

If you coded everything right you will be able to connect your phone to RNS-E....you will hear chime-sound from your speakers.
If your phone will ask for PASS KEY ...use default 1234 or you can change it with VAG (see PASS KEY coding in section above). Once your phone is paired you will be able to press TEL button and see all accessible functions.

once pairing is initiated nav will start looking for your phone. Be sure to check phone compatibility list because not every phone connect the same way. Various brands use different Bluetooth protocol and some features can be not accessible. You can find more info HERE

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]351[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


and will found it eventually :D

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]361[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


You will find few very handy options within TEL memory screen

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]362[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


and of course your TEL phonebook is visible on your NAV screen

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]363[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


Bluetooth icon and TEL signal icon are visible on other screens as well

[siteimg:fa6e65ed47]360[/siteimg:fa6e65ed47]


If you are looking for more precise information please visit and read this post:
http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=772

A lot of people spent a lot of time to make it work in various models and with different units. In most cases installation is the same but some details can be different. Especially coding.

Thanks to all who participated in this project ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
161 Posts
Great writeup... although, I disagree about the missing features and the SIM PIN info. I have a TEMIC (EU "C" revision) Bluetooth module connected to my A6 "P" RNS-E unit (EU unit converter to US, then upgraded to new 0110 US software), and it is fully functional (not blacked out as shown in this post). Also, the PIN setup is also available via the RNS-E (not only VAG COM). I am using a Motorola V3 Razr with it, if that matters. Or it might just be a coding issue. Regardless, the features are there in the new US software.

Hope that helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Features are triggered by proper soft coding, DVD wil just allow to load firmware with TEL general functionality. Improper coding will limitate some of the features. EU units with US upgrades don't have those problems but originall US units can't be coded (at least E model) for TEMIC.

I used upgraded EU D unit and had all features month ago but it doesn't work with US units that way. I'll be happy to see anyone to program US unit for TEMIC ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
Nice summary. And thanks to Scoty for the great PDF showing how to replace the phone interface.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
I have found that the phone interface tucks comfortably behind the glove box in the A4. It seems a shame you had to mount it inside.

I have done 7 A4's now and they all go behind.

The A6 is the same unless voice control has been fitted and then the location is full.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
198 Posts
Can you show us where you mount yours in relation to this picture. (Where I mounted mine but is a little tight.)



[siteimg:e5e890fd59]341[/siteimg:e5e890fd59]

Also my interface is able to read the phonebook and call lists of the phone.

The Pin Option was disabled at first but now I am able to change the pin.

Edit: Just confirmed adding +2 to the DIS does infact display the Phone call.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Wherever you will try to fit your box, be carefull with Bluetoth antenna.
I tried to go behind the glovebox but I have some more electronics over there already (Dietz 1417 and some modules from DVD player)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
I fit mine to the car, not the glovebox.

In the A4

Remove the glovebox and you will a large wiring loom running vertical. The BT module sits horizontal snuggly behind that loom with the antenna pointing up at the left.

Craig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
craigyb said:
I fit mine to the car, not the glovebox.

In the A4

Remove the glovebox and you will a large wiring loom running vertical. The BT module sits horizontal snuggly behind that loom with the antenna pointing up at the left.

Craig
That's in a right hand car with the glove box on the left, isn't it? In left hand cars the AC is located behind the glove box and may not leave enought space other than mounting it on the glove box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
PROXUS - which phone do you have?

PROXUS which phone are you using...like b5retrofit i too can access the pin number but unlike b5retrofit but like you i only see "directory" option i have a verizon audiovox XV6600 pocket pc/phone.

So i am thinking of trying a different phone to be sure that is limitation but I need to find someone with Motorola V3 Razr.

Do you, or does anyone, know someone with Razr to test the phone functionalitiy with it and without it on the US 110 software?

Thanks PROXUS and all
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
You dam lefties....

Well it works in the UK then for module installs.

Craig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Re: PROXUS - which phone do you have?

brianjpugh said:
PROXUS which phone are you using...like b5retrofit i too can access the pin number but unlike b5retrofit but like you i only see "directory" option i have a verizon audiovox XV6600 pocket pc/phone.

So i am thinking of trying a different phone to be sure that is limitation but I need to find someone with Motorola V3 Razr.

Do you, or does anyone, know someone with Razr to test the phone functionalitiy with it and without it on the US 110 software?

Thanks PROXUS and all
I have i-mate JAM, I bought it because I can use my SD cards in the Navi as well



but I will make some tests with my wife's razor V3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
Proxus

If you see the supported phones list, most PDA phones do not work with the full hands free profile.

I would guess that Imate of yours falls into the category of headset profile only..

ALSO....

What wiring did you wnat me to post? I make custom looms for my telephone installations, so I only make 8 connections to the RNS-E loom as shown in my diagram (I connect the K-line now)

Craig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
198 Posts
Possible reason why your phonebook isn't working?

Translated from the German doc you provided.

Select from telephone numbers from the mobile phone directory (only HW70) - calls of selected numbers (only HW70) - calls of the mailbox - calls of the calls in absence (only HW70) · announcements of the Bluetooth coupling character within the info. range of the MMI (only HW70) ·
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
craigyb said:
Proxus

If you see the supported phones list, most PDA phones do not work with the full hands free profile.

I would guess that Imate of yours falls into the category of headset profile only..

Craig
damn I really like that phone :cry:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
161 Posts
I'm not at home right now, but I will post all of my TEL related RNS-E VAG settings as well as my Bluetooth Module's coding tonight.

Also, it might be worth noting that I updated my Cingular V3 Razr to the most up-to-date firmware last week (thanks to MotoModders.com). So, if by chance you can find someone with a Razr and it still doesn't work, that might also be an issue. I'm not sure if that would effect it or not.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,759 Posts
PROXUS said:
damn I really like that phone :cry:
I really like my 910i too, but now I use a K750i

Craig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Re: PROXUS - which phone do you have?

PROXUS said:
but I will make some tests with my wife's razor V3
please do - thanks

i am pretty sure its due to PDA-type phone but be great to know 100% it is phone.

There is no way i will give up Pocket PC (windows media play = mp3/videos, real games, photo manager, MS office, outlook, msn messenger, full blown IE, etc) with camera, SD card slot, broadband internet speeds.

but i may get second phone for making calls from car (family plan) OR make sure wife gets it for her phone make life easier when driving.


I'm not at home right now, but I will post all of my TEL related RNS-E VAG settings as well as my Module's coding tonight.
Thanks b5retrofit - also if you have access try a different phone preferably PDA-type (BT should support up to 4 phones)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
Thanks b5retrofit - also if you have access try a different phone preferably PDA-type (BT should support up to 4 phones)
That brings up a different question. I see that it supports up to 4 phones. How about concurrently? If my wife and I are both in the car with our Bluetooth phones, will it support them both at the same time, or is that the first one that connects wins?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
I think I have read somewhere that it will always connect to the last connected phone in case there is more than one phone it knows about.
 
1 - 20 of 53 Posts
Top