Audi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so we got the bluetooth module wired in(Do not use power/ground from the RNS-E plug)..

My Nokia 6600 connects to it and i can dial(No phone book entries, maybe cause its bluetooth 1.1?)

i can not get any info on teh DIS Screen from teh phone..The top part where you normally would see Sat radio info just goes blank.. I Will try coding to 23 again and see if that works..

But the real issue i have, is that I can not access conttoler 77(telephone) if i just use the jump box it is says it can not access controller and if i go under the electronics tab and click on telephone(since its not in the main screen of vagcom, i have the newest version now) it still says can not access controler..

When we wired it up, the only wire we did not conenct is the K wire(says do not bother, not used in future models) now i have a 2005 A4 B6 so should we have connected that wire and thats why i can not access the tel box??

Everything else other tehn power and ground was connected from teh RNS-E harness..

And I also do not Have a Bluetooth Icon anywhere on the RNS and I there is no "BT" on the screen of the DIS, like i have seen from some screen shots..

Thanks again for all the help
-Scott
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
By the way, you can connect the module power and ground to the rns-e harness. I did it and when I turn on car, bluetooth connects. When I turn it off, BT disconnects.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
See thats interesting, as we taped the power and ground from the RNS-E plug and it said that the K line was grounded even though we did not have that k line hooked up..

Ok well we re-wired the power and ground anyways and i will have him connect the k-line just to be sure..

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
First, check you RNS-E adapter to make sure that you are really taping the k-wire.

I had some issues connecting to my BT interface on #77. And this was while bench testing with just the cluster, RNS-E and BT interface "in the car". I also took power and ground (besides all other signals) from the RNS-E harness, no issues here). I had more luck to take the L-wire (or k2-wire in some diagrams) instead of k-wire, direclty from the OBD plug. Other people reported that it took several attempts to connect to the BT interface, even when using VAG-COM 512.1. Any non-Ross-Tech cable may not be able to communicate at all with #77.

If your car has to many devices already connected to the k-wire, communication with #77 may be difficult. The comment about the k-wire being absolete is outdated, Craig confirmed that it very well communicates over the k-wire if connected properly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
128 Posts
So if I have a B6 2004 A4 do I need the K-Line or not cause I was going to do an install under the seat and I dont know if there is a wire there for the k-line. I was going to use the Telematics harness wires
Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,767 Posts
CZVT07 said:
So if I have a B6 2004 A4 do I need the K-Line or not cause I was going to do an install under the seat and I dont know if there is a wire there for the k-line. I was going to use the Telematics harness wires
Thanks
The Data Link Connector (DLC, pin T42/13) is the k-wire. In a B6 you need the k-wire to configure you BT interface.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,817 Posts
Speedyis300, double check your wires in the connector. Those cables are manuafactured manually and I checked 40 of them and found 2 with reversed 15 and 16 pin (or reversed tags on the wires, who knows). Maybe this is the case (?) Open your connector and check if you have K-Line on pin 15 and mute on 16,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
I really would like the bluetooth functionality in my november 2005 A3 (8P) s-line with RNS-E and multifunctional steering wheel.

But all this hi-tech stuff is really too dificult for me.

I don't see myself stripping my car to put all this stuff in. :cry:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
PROXUS said:
Speedyis300, double check your wires in the connector. Those cables are manuafactured manually and I checked 40 of them and found 2 with reversed 15 and 16 pin (or reversed tags on the wires, who knows). Maybe this is the case (?) Open your connector and check if you have K-Line on pin 15 and mute on 16,
I will double check, that i do not have the Kline connected at this time and have about 80% functionality with the bluetooth model.. So i am pretty sure nothing is reveresed other then we did not connect the wiring correctly.. Though as I think about it, I think he tapped ground from the BT model into the Kline of hte RNS-E plug.. I will just try taping the Kline from the BT plug into the same spot on the rns-e. I bet taht will work..

I also think becuase there is no direct communication to the BT model, that that is why i do not have access to my phone book.. Though I will try a Razar today(since i work at TMobile and have about 40 of them next to me) just to double check my thought.. Then tonght i will hook the Kline up.

I would go back and edit the wiring diagram posts that say not to hookthe kline up, as it seems like you deffintlyu do need it..

Thanks again everyone!
-Scott
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
dbaser said:
I really would like the bluetooth functionality in my november 2005 A3 (8P) s-line with RNS-E and multifunctional steering wheel.

But all this hi-tech stuff is really too dificult for me.

I don't see myself stripping my car to put all this stuff in. :cry:
Man, it is so worth it.. I would contact teddybear in the sales section as he just made a posting the otherday about making complete custom wiring harnesses. From the sound of it he can make one for you that will be completely plug and play so your not splicing into everything. Once i get my BT all set, i am pretyy sure i will have him make me one complete cable, so that i dont have 2 harness tapped into each other..(My installer is going ot hate me) =-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
My harness did not have the Kline connected. I took the power line of the cradle connector and moved it to pin 15. Then cut the cradle connector off to access that wire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Speedyis300 said:
Man, it is so worth it.. I would contact teddybear in the sales section as he just made a posting the otherday about making complete custom wiring harnesses. From the sound of it he can make one for you that will be completely plug and play so your not splicing into everything. Once i get my BT all set, i am pretyy sure i will have him make me one complete cable, so that i dont have 2 harness tapped into each other..(My installer is going ot hate me) =-)
Would I still need to remove parts from my car to place the bluetooth kit and cables?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Yes, your radio obviously would come out, your gauge cluster to put the antenna(super easy just make sure you pull your steering wheel out as far as it goes).

There are a few ways to install the bluetooth box, i think the best is pulling out the glove box(also not as bad as it seems, just like 8 bolts 6 of whcih are in the front, then 2 on the bottom on the left and right) it is much easier to put it in with 2 people..

I just velcroed my bluetooth module to a spot on the left above the light bulb, and used the existing cable for the light there to help secure it..

Then just connect the wiring harness if it is completely plug and play at that point..

If your in Connecitcut i can give ya a hand.. Or if you have friends that are good workin in cars you can tackle it..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Thx for your reply.

I'm getting more and more interested...

Removing the glove box seems to be not that difficult, the gauge cluster removal should be ok too, removing the RNS-E can be done if I get the removal tools.

What about putting a microphone in?

Are the wires for the mic allready in place or do I have to put them in myself?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Ya pulling the glove box isnt hard, i am always nervouse when taking something apart but its really is just 8, 8mm bolts.. Taking the cluster out is super easy..Just 2 T25 torx bits, you just need a long extension and again make sure your steering wheel pulled out towards your chest as much as possible...

Wiring the mic is probably a little more involved, as the spot for the mic is directly above your head in the dome light, there is a square with holes in it, near the button to turn the light off/on PROXUS posted a picture in a different post.. We ran the wire up the A piller, then took out the domelight and also took out the "oh-sheit" handle and visor to move hte headliner down a little then snaked the wire accross to the dome light and connected it all up..You can run the wire around the right side of the dash toward the windshield and then up the A pillar..

Just take your time its not to bad..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Could it be that the wire for the microphone is allready in place in my november 2005 A3 2.0 TDi s-line with RNS-E and multifunctional steering wheel?

I have read something about that somewhere.

What is the A piller and do you have some photos that show where the wire goes from the dome light?

There are some words in your explication that I'm not very familiar with. :oops:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
The wiring is most likely already there. It was in my 2004 A4. The problem is, I didn't know where it ended up. So I spliced into the connector that is there and ran the wiresalong the ceiling towards the left and down the side. I used a butter knife to shoce the wires under the molding. It's no a big deal at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Hmmm..I dont have any photo's myself someone else in here might..

Ya I am in America and we use Metrics, so it might be different for you..
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top