Audi Forum banner

441 - 460 of 460 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
AMI and Aux In use the same audio input, so you can't have AMI and Aux In, it's either or.
Since your RNS-E is obviously still coded for AMI, you'll need to correct that first.

HEX-USB+CAN is the most universal lead, but if all you need is a lead for CAN diagnostics (which is what the 8P uses) then you could go for the Micro-CAN lead.

IIRC the diagnostics socket on the 8P is above the bonnet (hood) release lever.
Thank you!
So, if I make changes on codes using micro-CAN lead, correcting to aux-in instead of AMI, it would work, am I correct?

Where do I change this setting from VCDs? (I am guessing I should change this setting on RNS-E unit..but I don't know how..)

Everything else works perfect, do I have to do any other stuff with the coding? like anything I should do after installing a new RNS-E..

One last question..
I am looking to get a reverse camera and video player using RNS-E. I heard the new version of RNS-E doesn't have multimedia adapter to get the video from the screen. Is this correct?

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/MULTIMEDIA-INTERFACE-AUDI-RNS-E-A3-A4-A6-adapter-0003-/280572370998?pt=UK_In_Car_Technology&hash=item41536aa036

I contacted the seller above, he said that unit will work with the new version of RNS-E. Is he correct?

Thank you again...
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Thank you!
So, if I make changes on codes using micro-CAN lead, correcting to aux-in instead of AMI, it would work, am I correct?
From your description of the messages, that should correct it.

Where do I change this setting from VCDs? (I am guessing I should change this setting on RNS-E unit..but I don't know how..)
Using VCDS connect to the RNS-E and change the coding - there's an excellent online (and downloadable) manual for VCDS.

Everything else works perfect, do I have to do any other stuff with the coding? like anything I should do after installing a new RNS-E..
Check the coding of the CAN gateway and (if you have an MFSW) the SCSM.

I am looking to get a reverse camera and video player using RNS-E. I heard the new version of RNS-E doesn't have multimedia adapter to get the video from the screen. Is this correct?
IIRC the US SW for the 2010+ RNS-E doesn't support AV inputs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Using VCDS connect to the RNS-E and change the coding - there's an excellent online (and downloadable) manual for VCDS.
Check the coding of the CAN gateway and (if you have an MFSW) the SCSM.
Thank you very much!
This may sound silly, but do I connect VCDs on the car (where bonnet is) to change to coding of RNS-E or do I actually connect to RNS-E?

and.. what's MFSW and SCSM?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
This may sound silly, but do I connect VCDs on the car (where bonnet is) to change to coding of RNS-E or do I actually connect to RNS-E?
You always connect VCDS to the car diagnostic socket.

what's MFSW and SCSM?
MFSW = Multi Function Steering Wheel

SCSM = Steering Column Switch Module
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I am looking to get a reverse camera and video player using RNS-E. I heard the new version of RNS-E doesn't have multimedia adapter to get the video from the screen. Is this correct?
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/MULTIMEDIA-INTERFACE-AUDI-RNS-E-A3-A4-A6-adapter-0003-/280572370998?pt=UK_In_Car_Technology&hash=item41536aa036

I contacted the seller above, he said that unit will work with the new version of RNS-E. Is he correct?
IIRC the US SW for the 2010+ RNS-E doesn't support AV inputs.
Hi, stumbled accross this post while doing some searching and was wondering if this was ever confirmed? I'm in Canada and recently picked up a new 2012 TT, and it has the 2010+ RNS-E. I was just wondering if maybe there was a solution or a way to get this working?

Thanks guys,

-X-
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Hi everyone,
I received my euro 193B rnse unit yesterday. I followed the conversion instructions and everything seemed to work good however my software version is stuck at --X. Everything works including the USA maps. When i used vagcom to force the downgrade nothing happens... I cant seem to get this unit to to the final upgrade/downgrade.
Any ideas?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
The procedure for converting the 2010+ units from Euro to US spec is different from the pre-2010 units - are you following the correct procedure?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
The procedure for converting the 2010+ units from Euro to US spec is different from the pre-2010 units - are you following the correct procedure?
Do you know what software versions are available on the new units? Is 0200 the only one available since they came out? I am confused because the older units run 0260.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,350 Posts
Do you know what software versions are available on the new units? Is 0200 the only one available since they came out? I am confused because the older units run 0260.
On the 2010+ units the software versions numbers, at the moment, are the same on both EU and US units - but the software is still different.

When I first got my EU 2010+ unit it was running 0070, then came 0150 and I currently have 0200 - although there are reports of new factory fitted units coming with 0210.

As mike3414 has said the SW version numbers for the pre-2010 and 2010+ units are unrelated (the latest, and probably final, EU software for the pre-2010 units is 0650!).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
I saw an 0210 on a mk2 few weeks ago, which I suspect was some form of hack, as I dont know of this at all, anyone come across this as yet?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
357 Posts
Well stuck dvd in, immediately it started to update my mk2, so now shows EU 220 firmware, cant see anything different atm, but does seem rather nippy around menu's, maybe its a placebo, we'll see.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hello,i need help please for RNS-E MK1 8p0035192h is alredy done with unlock cd but it can be play maps.say always untreatable cd but i have test it to onother RNS and works great.system sw index x---.sds PRG version S2210H06.HW index:H72.HU/Navi SW version V2200815.Boot version V2200100D Audio SW version A2210141-080807.i have done chanel 67 with vcds 0-1 and not working i stop speak language and dont working.i use dvd 8P0060884DJ.thanks
 
441 - 460 of 460 Posts
Top